Commure Scribe vs Freed
Both offer a seven-day trial, so the difference is what follows it. Freed charges $39 per month for Starter, capped at 40 notes, $79 for unlimited notes on Core, and $119 monthly or $104 billed annually for Premier, where EHR push into browser-based EHRs such as Elation, Tebra and Athena sits. ScribePro is $89 monthly or $59 billed annually.
A small practice on SimplePractice, WebPT or Cerbo, all on Commure Scribe's EHR list, has a $59 annual rate to weigh against Freed's $79. Freed has a visible user record. A r/FamilyMedicine poster reported reduced chart time, and another switched from Twofold to escape 3 to 5 minute lags. Commure's enterprise route, Ambient Assist and Live, adds specialist support at quote only, for health systems. Freed lists no native Epic integration, so an Epic group looks elsewhere.
Freed's group tier is custom-priced through sales and adds MA seats, SSO and admin dashboards.
AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Commure Scribe
by Commure · founded 2012
Hybrid AI + human-in-loop scribe, now part of Commure.

Freed
by Freed AI · founded 2022
Ambient AI scribe for independent practices, with a coding assistant, clinical evidence answers and an AI front desk.
When to pick each one
Commure Scribe
- Small practices on SimplePractice, WebPT or Cerbo
- ScribePro: $59 per month billed annually
- ScribeCore free for 7 days
Freed
- Solo clinicians on browser EHRs such as Elation or Tebra
- Core: $79 per month, unlimited notes
- Premier $119 monthly adds browser EHR push
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Commure Scribe
38of 100
Freed
33of 100
| Dimension | Commure Scribe | Freed | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 13 / 13 | 7.8 / 13 | +5.2 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 21 | 0 / 21 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 12 | 0 / 12 | 0 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 5.2 | 0 / 5.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 0 / 7 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 3 | 0 / 3 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 8.4 / 12 | 0 |
| Pricing transparency | 5 / 5 | 5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 6 / 6 | 4.2 / 6 | +1.8 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Commure Scribe
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| ScribeCore | 7 days free | Free | unlimited notes for 7 days with full feature access. No credit card needed until you upgrade |
| ScribePro, annual billing | per month, billed annually at $708 per year | $59 | page label says 30% off a struck-through $1,068 per year. The numbers shown imply about 34% off ($1,068 minus $708, divided by $1,068) |
| ScribePro, monthly billing | per month | $89 | struck-through price on the annual card. Commure's own roundup states $89 per month |
Verified October 14, 2026 from getscribe.commure.com (opens in new tab).
Freed
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | per month | $39 | 1 clinician, up to 40 notes per month. The page shows $59 and $39, and third parties say $39 is the sale price |
| Core | per month | $79 | unlimited notes. The page shows $59 and $79, and third parties read $79 as the price |
| Premier, monthly billing | per month, billed monthly | $119 | the page has a Monthly/Annually toggle. Third parties read $119 as monthly. EHR push sits on the top tier |
| Premier, annual billing | per month, billed annually | $104 | annual reading of the toggle, per third parties |
| Front Desk | per month, starting at | $149 | Freed's front-desk product, not the scribe. $149 per month per block of 250 calls on its own page, and the pricing page navigation lists it as starting at $149/mo |
Verified October 14, 2026 from getfreed.ai (opens in new tab).
Evidence
Commure Scribe
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
Freed
Community
11 posts sourced: 3 positive, 8 neutral, 0 negative.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Commure Scribe | Freed |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | 2012 | 2022 |
| HQ | US | US |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full ai medical scribes comparison
The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.
