Commure Scribe vs MedScrub
Commure writes the visit note and MedScrub reads the chart, so a practice buys each for a different bottleneck. Commure's self-serve app suits a small practice that wants notes drafted in the clinician's voice. ScribePro is $89 a month, or $59 a month billed at $708 a year, in US dollars, after a seven-day free ScribeCore trial. The app's page lists athenahealth, AdvancedMD, Cerbo, eClinicalWorks, Elation, Kipu, MEDITECH, Practice Fusion, SimplePractice, Tebra and WebPT, and the pricing page places EHR sync under ScribeEnterprise, so which tier carries it is not stated. Health systems get a separate enterprise Ambient AI, with Augmedix-lineage documentation specialists, by quote.
MedScrub summarizes the synced chart overnight, flags open plans and checks whether earlier plans were carried out. It says it strips the 18 HIPAA identifiers locally before a model sees the data, and says it is listed on the Epic, Oracle Health, athenahealth and eClinicalWorks marketplaces. Solo is $99 a month, and two providers on the Practice tier cost $178 a month billed annually, currency not stated. Its buyer is a practice on one of those EHRs that wants pre-visit chart prep, and its credit bundles serve clinical AI developers.
AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Commure Scribe
by Commure · founded 2012
Hybrid AI + human-in-loop scribe, now part of Commure.

MedScrub
by 1PuttHealth
Chart summarization and pre-visit prep that runs on a local machine and strips HIPAA identifiers before any model sees the data.
When to pick each one
Commure Scribe
- ScribePro $59 monthly on annual billing, USD
- Writes visit notes in the clinician's voice
- Seven-day ScribeCore trial, no card
MedScrub
- Overnight chart summaries and open-plan checks
- Says it is listed on Epic and Oracle Health marketplaces
- Solo $99 monthly, currency not stated
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Commure Scribe
38of 100
MedScrub
36of 100
| Dimension | Commure Scribe | MedScrub | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 13 / 13 | 0 / 13 | +13 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 21 | 10.5 / 21 | -10.5 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 12 | 12 / 12 | -12 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 5.2 | 0 / 5.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 0 / 7 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 3 | 0 / 3 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 3 / 12 | +5.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 5 / 5 | 5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 6 / 6 | 0 / 6 | +6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Commure Scribe
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| ScribeCore | 7 days free | Free | unlimited notes for 7 days with full feature access. No credit card needed until you upgrade |
| ScribePro, annual billing | per month, billed annually at $708 per year | $59 | page label says 30% off a struck-through $1,068 per year. The numbers shown imply about 34% off ($1,068 minus $708, divided by $1,068) |
| ScribePro, monthly billing | per month | $89 | struck-through price on the annual card. Commure's own roundup states $89 per month |
Verified October 14, 2026 from getscribe.commure.com (opens in new tab).
MedScrub
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hobby | n/a | n/a | For developers: 500 credits at sign-up. The page does not label its currency; USD is assumed from the "$" signs. |
| Solo | $99 | n/a | Annual billing available; the page says it saves $600 a year. Currency not labeled; USD assumed. |
| Practice | $89 | n/a | For 2 to 10 providers. Save $480 a year versus monthly. Example: two providers at $178 a month. Currency not labeled; USD assumed. |
| Credits 3,000 | n/a | n/a | Developer credit bundle of 3,000 credits. Credits never expire. Currency not labeled; USD assumed. |
| Credits 10,000 | n/a | n/a | Developer credit bundle of 10,000 credits. Credits never expire. Currency not labeled; USD assumed. |
| Credits 100,000 | n/a | n/a | Developer credit bundle of 100,000 credits. Credits never expire. Currency not labeled; USD assumed. |
| Nonprofit | n/a | n/a | Free for 501(c)(3) healthcare nonprofits with a determination letter. |
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Custom pricing. |
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Commure Scribe | MedScrub |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Epic, Oracle Health, athenahealth, eClinicalWorks |
| Founded | 2012 | n/a |
| HQ | US | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full ai medical scribes comparison
The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.
