Commure Scribe vs Medwriter
Commure states its trial terms: seven days of unlimited notes with full feature access and no card, through ScribeCore. Medwriter says no credit card is required and cancellation is anytime, and states no trial length, so a practice that wants a defined test period before paying has the clearer terms at Commure.
Athenahealth, AdvancedMD, eClinicalWorks and Practice Fusion appear on each tool's EHR list, and those lists are names on vendor pages. Medwriter's EHR integration, a Chrome extension, and its E/M coding suggestions sit on its Pro tier, which has no posted price. Commure's pricing page places EHR sync under ScribeEnterprise, and its list adds Cerbo, Elation, Kipu, MEDITECH, SimplePractice, Tebra and WebPT. A practice on SimplePractice, Kipu or WebPT is Commure's buyer, and Commure also bought Augmedix for about $139 million in 2024.
ScribePro is $89 a month in US dollars, or $59 billed at $708 a year. Medwriter Standard is $99 per user per month in a currency its page does not state, so the two prices do not compare directly. Medwriter suits a Healthie or IntakeQ practice that wants prior authorizations, referral letters and denial letters drafted beyond the note, plus a MIPS audit option.
AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Commure Scribe
by Commure · founded 2012
Hybrid AI + human-in-loop scribe, now part of Commure.
Medwriter
by S7Labs, LLC
AI scribe for outpatient clinicians that drafts notes, codes and letters from live recordings.
When to pick each one
Commure Scribe
- Seven-day ScribeCore trial, full features, no card
- Lists SimplePractice, Kipu, WebPT, Tebra
- Enterprise tier with documentation specialists
Medwriter
- Standard $99 per user monthly, currency not stated
- Drafts prior authorizations, referral and denial letters
- Lists Healthie, IntakeQ, Allscripts, Practice Fusion
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Commure Scribe
38of 100
Medwriter
37of 100
| Dimension | Commure Scribe | Medwriter | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 13 / 13 | 7.8 / 13 | +5.2 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 21 | 10.5 / 21 | -10.5 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 12 | 4.8 / 12 | -4.8 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 5.2 | 0 / 5.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 0 / 7 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 3 | 0 / 3 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 3 / 12 | +5.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 5 / 5 | 5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 6 / 6 | 0 / 6 | +6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Commure Scribe
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| ScribeCore | 7 days free | Free | unlimited notes for 7 days with full feature access. No credit card needed until you upgrade |
| ScribePro, annual billing | per month, billed annually at $708 per year | $59 | page label says 30% off a struck-through $1,068 per year. The numbers shown imply about 34% off ($1,068 minus $708, divided by $1,068) |
| ScribePro, monthly billing | per month | $89 | struck-through price on the annual card. Commure's own roundup states $89 per month |
Verified October 14, 2026 from getscribe.commure.com (opens in new tab).
Medwriter
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | $99 | n/a | Unlimited sessions, template library, hint words and additional document drafting. No credit card required, cancel anytime. Trial length and refund not stated. |
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | The Pro tier is listed as "Reach Out" with no price. It adds custom templates, EHR integration through a Chrome extension and E/M coding suggestions. No public price. |
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Commure Scribe | Medwriter |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Allscripts, Athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, Practice Fusion, AdvancedMD, Healthie, IntakeQ |
| Founded | 2012 | n/a |
| HQ | US | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Open the full ai medical scribes comparison
The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.
