MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

DermaSensor vs Epic Sepsis Model

DermaSensor is a handheld spectroscopy device a primary care physician uses on a lesion already judged suspicious, and the Epic Sepsis Model is a risk score Epic's EHR calculates for admitted patients. DermaSensor holds De Novo DEN230008, decided in January 2024, as a software-aided adjunctive diagnostic device for use by physicians on lesions suspicious for skin cancer. It takes five spectral recordings per lesion and returns Monitor or Investigate Further with a 1 to 10 score. The vendor-run DERM-SUCCESS study reports 96% sensitivity, and the vendor's evidence page lists specificity of 33% in DERM-ASSESS III. Its FAQ says EHR integration is not available yet.

The sepsis model runs only inside Epic. Hospitals that license Epic buy it and primary care practices buy DermaSensor, so the two do not share a buyer. An independent four-system validation of version 2 in JAMA Network Open (2026) reported encounter-level AUROC of 0.82 to 0.92 and positive predictive value of 0.13 to 0.26. openFDA lists no 510(k) for the Epic Sepsis Model, and Epic's cleared Deterioration Index Version 2, K260008, is a different model.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

DermaSensor logo

DermaSensor

by DermaSensor · founded 2009

Handheld spectroscopy device giving primary care physicians an AI score on skin lesions already judged suspicious.

Epic Sepsis Model logo

Epic Sepsis Model

by Epic Systems

Sepsis risk score calculated every 15 minutes inside the Epic EHR, with alert thresholds set by each hospital.

When to pick each one

DermaSensor

  • De Novo grant DEN230008 for suspicious skin lesions
  • Handheld reading with a 1 to 10 score
  • Five spectral recordings per lesion
Read the full DermaSensor review

Epic Sepsis Model

  • Native to Epic, no add-on integration
  • Version 2 AUROC 0.82 to 0.92 across four US systems
  • Raises a clinician alert inside the EHR
Read the full Epic Sepsis Model review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

DermaSensor

49of 100

Solid choice

Epic Sepsis Model

41of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for DermaSensor and Epic Sepsis Model
DimensionDermaSensorEpic Sepsis ModelDifference
FDA clearance12 / 120 / 12+12
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers14.7 / 2121 / 21-6.3
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review4.5 / 99 / 9-4.5
Funding & adoption signal3 / 123 / 120
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.51.3 / 2.50
Years in market6 / 60 / 6+6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

DermaSensor

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo published price for an outright purchase. Monthly rental subscription, one-year device use agreement with try-and-return option.

Epic Sepsis Model

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Delivered within Epic licensing.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecDermaSensorEpic Sepsis Model
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Founded2009n/a
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.