MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

DermaSensor vs Zio

A primary care physician rents DermaSensor to score a suspicious skin lesion, and a cardiology group or health system orders iRhythm's Zio service to monitor a patient's rhythm over days of wear. DermaSensor's FAQ says a dedicated CPT code has not yet been established, and its vendor evidence page lists specificity between 9.4% and 33%. With Zio, a patch is worn and returned, cloud deep learning flags arrhythmias, cardiac technicians validate them, and a physician report follows. iRhythm bills payers through Medicare-enrolled IDTFs, and the vendor claims 99% physician agreement on end-of-wear reports.

On the FDA side, iRhythm has 18 510(k) records. A warning letter dated May 25, 2023 said Zio AT was changed without clearance and marketed to a new high-risk population, Form 483 observations followed July 2024 inspections, and the FY2025 10-K says FDA issues remain open. openFDA shows one DermaSensor record, a De Novo classification as a software-aided adjunctive diagnostic device. DermaSensor reports $43M in total investment, and iRhythm is a public company.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

DermaSensor logo

DermaSensor

by DermaSensor · founded 2009

Handheld spectroscopy device giving primary care physicians an AI score on skin lesions already judged suspicious.

ZI

Zio

by iRhythm Technologies · founded 2006

Zio ECG patch service: a deep-learning algorithm flags arrhythmias, cardiac technicians validate them, and a physician report follows.

When to pick each one

DermaSensor

  • Handheld lesion reader for primary care physicians
  • Vendor-run multi-reader and prospective studies
Read the full DermaSensor review

Zio

  • 18 510(k) records, public company
  • Technician-validated deep-learning ECG reports
Read the full Zio review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

DermaSensor

49of 100

Solid choice

Zio

69of 100

Top-ranked
Score by dimension for DermaSensor and Zio
DimensionDermaSensorZioDifference
FDA clearance12 / 1212 / 120
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers14.7 / 2121 / 21-6.3
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review4.5 / 99 / 9-4.5
Funding & adoption signal3 / 128.4 / 12-5.4
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.51.3 / 2.50
Years in market6 / 66 / 60

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

DermaSensor

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo published price for an outright purchase. Monthly rental subscription, one-year device use agreement with try-and-return option.

Zio

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

Evidence

Zio

FDA decisions

Show 13 more

Peer-reviewed

5 PubMed records name Zio.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecDermaSensorZio
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Founded20092006
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.