MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Eko Health vs Epic Sepsis Model

Eko sells the CORE 300 digital stethoscope as a $199 one-time purchase, marked down from a $249 list price with no sale end date shown. Eko's AI needs the Eko+ membership at $119.99 per year, with a 14-day free trial. AFib detection requires the CORE 500, and the low ejection fraction tool runs on an ECG-capable stethoscope. Health systems reach SENSORA and Eko Telehealth through Contact Sales. Eko holds ten 510(k) records on openFDA.

The Epic Sepsis Model is a risk score delivered within Epic licensing, recalculated every 15 minutes, with alert thresholds the hospital sets. A clinician who auscultates buys from Eko, and an Epic customer's sepsis program uses the model, so a health system could own both without trading one for the other. An independent ED validation in the American Journal of Emergency Medicine (2025) of 35,076 encounters found AUROC of 0.77 for version 1 and 0.90 for version 2.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Eko Health logo

Eko Health

by Eko Health

Digital stethoscopes and an AI membership that detect heart murmurs, AFib and low ejection fraction for clinicians.

Epic Sepsis Model logo

Epic Sepsis Model

by Epic Systems

Sepsis risk score calculated every 15 minutes inside the Epic EHR, with alert thresholds set by each hospital.

When to pick each one

Eko Health

  • CORE 300 stethoscope at $199 one-time, list $249
  • Eko+ AI membership at $119.99 per year
  • Ten 510(k) records on openFDA
Read the full Eko Health review

Epic Sepsis Model

  • Score recalculated every 15 minutes inside Epic
  • Version 2 AUROC 0.90 in an ED validation
  • Delivered within Epic licensing
Read the full Epic Sepsis Model review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Eko Health

48of 100

Solid choice

Epic Sepsis Model

41of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for Eko Health and Epic Sepsis Model
DimensionEko HealthEpic Sepsis ModelDifference
FDA clearance12 / 120 / 12+12
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA10 / 100 / 10+10
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers8.4 / 2121 / 21-12.6
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 99 / 9-9
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 123 / 12+5.4
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.51.3 / 2.50
Years in market0 / 60 / 60

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Eko Health

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
CORE 300 digital stethoscopen/an/aSale price, list price $249 struck through on the product page. Sale end date not shown.
Eko+n/an/aRequired for Eko AI. Renews automatically for the year. 14-day free trial, downgrade to Free before day 14.
Enterprise (SENSORA, Eko Telehealth)n/an/aNo public price. Contact sales.

Epic Sepsis Model

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Delivered within Epic licensing.

Evidence

Eko Health

FDA decisions

Show 5 more

Peer-reviewed

1 PubMed record names Eko Health.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecEko HealthEpic Sepsis Model
Free tierYesNo / unverified
HIPAAYesNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IIYesNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/an/a
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.