MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Eko Health vs KATE

An emergency department's nursing leadership is who Mednition's KATE is built for, with a triage acuity recommendation and a sepsis flag drawn from EHR data at the triage desk. Eko sells to the clinician who listens to the heart, through a digital stethoscope with AI murmur analysis.

Eko holds ten 510(k) clearances. Mednition has a Breakthrough Device Designation for KATE Sepsis, announced November 14, 2023, which is a designation and not a clearance, and openFDA shows no K or De Novo number for it. Wikipedia reports that Eko's SENSORA tier received CPT Category III status in 2024 and CMS OPPS payment in 2025, and the vendor claims more than 750,000 devices sold.

Mednition names Adventist Health White Memorial and Adventist Health Glendale as customers. Its 2019 release says it raised a $10M Series A, and Tracxn lists that as its only round. It shows an ROI calculator in place of a price, and its 2019 triage-accuracy figure, up 26.9% overall at White Memorial, is the vendor's own and was still in peer review at the time.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Eko Health logo

Eko Health

by Eko Health

Digital stethoscopes and an AI membership that detect heart murmurs, AFib and low ejection fraction for clinicians.

KATE logo

KATE

by Mednition · founded 2014

KATE AI recommends emergency department triage acuity and flags sepsis risk from EHR data at triage.

When to pick each one

Eko Health

  • Digital stethoscope with AI murmur analysis
  • Ten 510(k) clearances
  • SENSORA CPT Category III in 2024, per Wikipedia
Read the full Eko Health review

KATE

  • ED triage acuity and sepsis risk from EHR data
  • Breakthrough designation for KATE Sepsis, not a clearance
  • Named customers include Adventist Health White Memorial
Read the full KATE review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Eko Health

48of 100

Solid choice

KATE

12of 100

Tracked
Score by dimension for Eko Health and KATE
DimensionEko HealthKATEDifference
FDA clearance12 / 120 / 12+12
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA10 / 100 / 10+10
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers8.4 / 210 / 21+8.4
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 90 / 90
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 123 / 12+5.4
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.51.3 / 2.50
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Eko Health

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
CORE 300 digital stethoscopen/an/aSale price, list price $249 struck through on the product page. Sale end date not shown.
Eko+n/an/aRequired for Eko AI. Renews automatically for the year. 14-day free trial, downgrade to Free before day 14.
Enterprise (SENSORA, Eko Telehealth)n/an/aNo public price. Contact sales.

KATE

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

Evidence

Eko Health

FDA decisions

Show 5 more

Peer-reviewed

1 PubMed record names Eko Health.

KATE

FDA decisions

No FDA decision cited in our research as of November 2, 2026.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecEko HealthKATE
Free tierYesNo / unverified
HIPAAYesNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IIYesNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2014
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.