MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Empathia AI vs Speke AI

Speke AI Express costs $150 per month billed monthly, currency not stated, and drafts the note with AI alone. Pro adds QA and editing by trained specialists before the provider approves, on custom enterprise pricing. The Express page states read-write links to Epic, Athena and eClinicalWorks, and Speke says completed visits are deleted after 72 hours. Pro suits an emergency department or hospital group that already buys human scribing and wants a vendor whose brand began as a ScribeAmerica service line checking the AI.

Speke says it takes audio in 25+ languages and writes the note in English, without listing the languages, and it says it cannot act as an interpreter. Empathia's FAQ states recording in English, with patient-facing documents output in 30+ languages. A clinic whose visits are not in English has a recording path at Speke that Empathia's FAQ rules out, so Empathia is out for it.

Empathia AI states HIPAA, PHIPA and PIPEDA compliance and sells to US and Canadian clinicians, with a Clinics and Teams tier on custom pricing for groups.

AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Empathia AI logo

Empathia AI

by Empathia AI, Inc.

General-purpose ambient AI scribe and documentation platform for US and Canadian clinicians.

Speke AI logo

Speke AI

by Speke AI

Ambient AI scribe for clinicians, sold as AI-only Express or Pro with specialist review, for practices and health systems.

When to pick each one

Empathia AI

  • Patient documents in 30+ languages
  • HIPAA, PHIPA and PIPEDA stated
Read the full Empathia AI review

Speke AI

  • Pro tier adds QA by trained specialists
  • Audio in 25+ languages, notes in English
  • Express page states Epic, Athena, eClinicalWorks links
Read the full Speke AI review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Empathia AI

54of 100

Solid choice

Speke AI

47of 100

Solid choice
Score by dimension for Empathia AI and Speke AI
DimensionEmpathia AISpeke AIDifference
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA13 / 1313 / 130
EHR integrations (count)10.5 / 2110.5 / 210
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)8.4 / 128.4 / 120
Bidirectional write-back0 / 5.20 / 5.20
Peer-reviewed papers0 / 70 / 70
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 30 / 30
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 123 / 12+5.4
Pricing transparency5 / 55 / 50
Years in market0 / 60 / 60

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Empathia AI

TierBilling periodPriceNotes
Free Trialfree trialFree21 days or 100 encounters, all Premium features, no credit card. Pricing page only. The FAQ separately describes a free plan of 10 encounters per 30 days, which the pricing page does not show, so it is not listed here.
Premium, billed annuallyper month, billed annually$50Marked Most Popular. Per month billed annually. Currency not stated on the page, read as USD. Annual price locked for 12 months, cancel anytime. Free for approved medical students and residents. The "Exclusive Offer Extended" banner has no terms or end date.
Premium, billed monthlyper month, billed monthly$75Same Premium tier, billed monthly. Currency not stated on the page, read as USD.

Verified November 2, 2026 from empathia.ai (opens in new tab).

Speke AI

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Express$150n/aAI draft only. Billed monthly. No trial or minimum term stated. Pro adds QA and editing by trained specialists and is custom-priced, so it is not listed here

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecEmpathia AISpeke AI
Free tierYesNo / unverified
HIPAAYesYes
SOC 2 Type IIYesYes
EHR integrationsathenahealth, Accuro, DrChrono, eClinicalWorks, Epic, OSCAR McMaster, PlexiaEpic, Athena, eClinicalWorks, Veradigm, ModMed
Foundedn/an/a
HQn/aUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full ai medical scribes comparison

The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.