MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Epic Sepsis Model vs Sepsis ImmunoScore

Prenosis's Sepsis ImmunoScore holds FDA De Novo DEN230036, decided April 2, 2024. It scores adults admitted to the ED or hospital with suspected sepsis from up to 22 EHR parameters in four risk bands, and the vendor says it has not been validated in ICU or labor and delivery units. Its NEJM AI development and validation paper is vendor-run, no EHR is named on the product page, and no price is public.

Both tools address inpatient and ED sepsis, so a hospital choosing sepsis software can weigh them. The Epic Sepsis Model has no record on openFDA and runs only inside Epic. The 2021 Michigan Medicine study of the first version measured an AUROC of 0.63 with 67 percent of sepsis cases missed, and the 2026 prospective study of version 2 across four US systems found AUROC of 0.82 to 0.92 but PPV of 0.13 to 0.26 and a high alert burden. For a hospital that must buy FDA-authorized sepsis software, the Epic Sepsis Model loses. A hospital already on Epic that is willing to tune its own thresholds can run it within the EHR it licenses.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Epic Sepsis Model logo

Epic Sepsis Model

by Epic Systems

Sepsis risk score calculated every 15 minutes inside the Epic EHR, with alert thresholds set by each hospital.

AI sepsis risk score from up to 22 EHR parameters for adults with suspected sepsis in the ED or hospital, FDA De Novo authorized.

When to pick each one

Epic Sepsis Model

  • Delivered within the Epic license
  • Hospital-set alert thresholds
Read the full Epic Sepsis Model review

Sepsis ImmunoScore

  • FDA De Novo DEN230036, April 2024
  • Up to 22 EHR parameters, four risk bands
Read the full Sepsis ImmunoScore review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Epic Sepsis Model

41of 100

Competitive

Sepsis ImmunoScore

37of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for Epic Sepsis Model and Sepsis ImmunoScore
DimensionEpic Sepsis ModelSepsis ImmunoScoreDifference
FDA clearance0 / 1212 / 12-12
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers21 / 2114.7 / 21+6.3
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review9 / 90 / 9+9
Funding & adoption signal3 / 123 / 120
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.51.3 / 2.50
Years in market0 / 60 / 60

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Epic Sepsis Model

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Delivered within Epic licensing.

Sepsis ImmunoScore

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Demo or contact only.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecEpic Sepsis ModelSepsis ImmunoScore
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/an/a
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.