MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Epic Sepsis Model vs Regard

Regard sells to health systems, in part to finance buyers for HCC capture and denial prevention. The vendor says it reads 100 percent of the chart to recommend diagnoses with evidence and draft notes, with physician approval before anything reaches patients. Customers shown include Banner Health, WakeMed and Main Line Health. The technology page says it works with any EHR and shows only Epic in a demo, and its ONC Health IT certification dates from May 2024. Its technology and ONC certification pages carry no HIPAA or SOC 2 statement, and pricing is demo only.

The evidence Regard supplies is vendor case studies. Sentara Health reports a 17 percent increase in CC/MCC capture and 4x ROI per user, and an Arizona system reports $50m+ in revenue (currency not stated).

Diagnosis suggestions and HCC capture sit on one side and a sepsis alert on the other, so no purchase overlaps. The Epic Sepsis Model sits inside Epic for hospitals on that EHR and scores admitted and ED patients. Michigan Medicine's 38,455 hospitalizations gave version 1 an AUROC of 0.63, and an ED study of 35,076 encounters put version 2 at 0.90.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Epic Sepsis Model logo

Epic Sepsis Model

by Epic Systems

Sepsis risk score calculated every 15 minutes inside the Epic EHR, with alert thresholds set by each hospital.

Regard logo

Regard

by Regard

AI platform that reviews the full EHR chart, suggests supported diagnoses with evidence, and drafts clinical notes for physician approval.

When to pick each one

Epic Sepsis Model

  • Sepsis alerts native to the Epic EHR
  • Scores adult inpatients and ED patients
Read the full Epic Sepsis Model review

Regard

  • ONC Health IT certification from May 2024
  • Diagnosis suggestions with evidence, notes drafted for approval
  • Customers include Banner Health and WakeMed
Read the full Regard review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Epic Sepsis Model

41of 100

Competitive

Regard

9of 100

Tracked
Score by dimension for Epic Sepsis Model and Regard
DimensionEpic Sepsis ModelRegardDifference
FDA clearance0 / 120 / 120
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.61.7 / 5.6-1.7
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.81.9 / 4.8-1.9
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers21 / 210 / 21+21
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review9 / 90 / 9+9
Funding & adoption signal3 / 123 / 120
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.51.3 / 2.50
Years in market0 / 60 / 60

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Epic Sepsis Model

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Delivered within Epic licensing.

Regard

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

Evidence

Regard

FDA decisions

No FDA decision cited in our research as of November 2, 2026.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecEpic Sepsis ModelRegard
Free tierNo / unverifiedNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedEpic
Foundedn/an/a
HQUSn/a

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.