MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Epic Sepsis Model vs VisualDx

OpenFDA lists no 510(k) under the Epic Sepsis Model name. K260008, decided in September 2026, belongs to Deterioration Index Version 2, a different model. The sepsis score is recalculated every 15 minutes, and each hospital sets its own alert thresholds. It fits an Epic hospital that wants the score inside its existing record.

VisualDx is a subscription for the clinician at the point of care. Elite is $299.99 per year billed annually and Core, the education plan, is $249.99 (currency not stated for both). Groups of 2 to 5 users and enterprise accounts are priced by contact. A primary care physician working up a rash gets a differential builder, and the vendor says the image library holds more than 50,000 images across skin tones and body sites. The vendor's 2020 DermExpert FAQ says VisualDx is exempt from FDA regulation, and its homepage mentions EHR integration with "major EHRs" and names none. On a ward, the Epic Sepsis Model raises the sepsis alert while VisualDx sits with whoever is working up a skin finding, so the two serve separate questions.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Epic Sepsis Model logo

Epic Sepsis Model

by Epic Systems

Sepsis risk score calculated every 15 minutes inside the Epic EHR, with alert thresholds set by each hospital.

VisualDx logo

VisualDx

by VisualDx · founded 1999

Differential diagnosis builder with 50,000+ clinical images across skin tones and body sites.

When to pick each one

Epic Sepsis Model

  • Score recalculated every 15 minutes in Epic
  • Hospital-set alert thresholds
Read the full Epic Sepsis Model review

VisualDx

  • Elite $299.99 per year, currency not stated
  • Vendor says 50,000+ images across skin tones
  • Groups of 2 to 5 priced by contact
Read the full VisualDx review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Epic Sepsis Model

41of 100

Competitive

VisualDx

48of 100

Solid choice
Score by dimension for Epic Sepsis Model and VisualDx
DimensionEpic Sepsis ModelVisualDxDifference
FDA clearance0 / 120 / 120
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers21 / 2114.7 / 21+6.3
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review9 / 99 / 90
Funding & adoption signal3 / 128.4 / 12-5.4
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.52.5 / 2.5-1.2
Years in market0 / 66 / 6-6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Epic Sepsis Model

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Delivered within Epic licensing.

VisualDx

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Core (education)n/a$249.99Shown as $39.99 or $20.83 per month, billed annually. Free trial length is not stated. Annual plans that auto-renew have a 30-day grace period for a full refund of the renewed fee.
Elite (clinicians)n/a$299.99Shown as $49.99 or $24.99 per month, billed annually.
Groups and Enterprisen/an/aContact for pricing, including small groups of 2 to 5 users.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecEpic Sepsis ModelVisualDx
Free tierNo / unverifiedYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a1999
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.