MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Freed vs Nabla

A randomized NEJM AI trial put Nabla against DAX Copilot and usual care across 238 physicians and more than 48,000 visits. Nabla users spent 9.5% less time in notes than the control group, while DAX's change was not significant. Nabla was used in about 29.5% of visits.

Freed has Reddit users, mostly positive and a few mixed, and a price list: Starter from $39 per month, Premier with EHR push and coding at $119 per month, a seven-day trial, and free Core access for residents and students. Nabla lists no price, and its terms bill per authorized user per month in euros. A third-party figure of $119 to $239 per clinician per month circulates, probably from 2025.

Nabla says it is deployed at 130-plus organizations, and a health system wanting controlled evidence gets nothing like it from Freed. Nabla is the one to drop for a solo practice paying out of pocket.

AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Freed logo

Freed

by Freed AI · founded 2022

Ambient AI scribe for independent practices, with a coding assistant, clinical evidence answers and an AI front desk.

Nabla logo

Nabla

by Nabla · founded 2018

Clinical AI layer for health systems: ambient documentation, dictation and coding suggestions, plus the Nabla Connect API for partners.

When to pick each one

Freed

  • Solo clinician who wants a posted price
  • Starter $39 per month, Premier $119 per month
  • Seven-day trial, free Core for trainees
Read the full Freed review

Nabla

  • Health system that wants trial evidence
  • Epic dictation built in, per its site
  • Deployed at 130-plus organizations (vendor-stated)
Read the full Nabla review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Freed

33of 100

Competitive

Nabla

36of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for Freed and Nabla
DimensionFreedNablaDifference
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA7.8 / 1313 / 13-5.2
EHR integrations (count)0 / 210 / 210
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 120 / 120
Bidirectional write-back0 / 5.20 / 5.20
Peer-reviewed papers0 / 70 / 70
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 30 / 30
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 128.4 / 120
Pricing transparency5 / 52.5 / 5+2.5
Years in market4.2 / 66 / 6-1.8

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Freed

TierBilling periodPriceNotes
Starterper month$391 clinician, up to 40 notes per month. The page shows $59 and $39, and third parties say $39 is the sale price
Coreper month$79unlimited notes. The page shows $59 and $79, and third parties read $79 as the price
Premier, monthly billingper month, billed monthly$119the page has a Monthly/Annually toggle. Third parties read $119 as monthly. EHR push sits on the top tier
Premier, annual billingper month, billed annually$104annual reading of the toggle, per third parties
Front Deskper month, starting at$149Freed's front-desk product, not the scribe. $149 per month per block of 250 calls on its own page, and the pricing page navigation lists it as starting at $149/mo

Verified October 14, 2026 from getfreed.ai (opens in new tab).

Nabla

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price: nabla.com/pricing returns a 404 page with a contact form. Terms of Sale state a monthly fee per authorized user, in euros excluding VAT.

Verified October 14, 2026 from nabla.com (opens in new tab).

Evidence

Freed

Community

11 posts sourced: 3 positive, 8 neutral, 0 negative.

Nabla

No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecFreedNabla
Free tierYesNo / unverified
HIPAAYesYes
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedYes
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Founded20222018
HQUSFR

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Open the full ai medical scribes comparison

The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.