Freed vs Stream
River Records' Stream copies notes to the clipboard. Its FAQ says there is no EHR write-back, with none planned this year. Freed pushes notes into browser-based EHRs through a Chrome extension on the Premier tier and names Athena, Elation, Tebra and DrChrono among the targets.
River Records files each visit under the patient's medical problems, with a Subjective, Objective, and Assessment and Plan block per problem, and aims at practices of one to twenty clinicians. Stream Pro costs $149 per clinician monthly or $99 billed annually, with a 30-day trial and a BAA on every plan, trials included. Freed is the pick when notes should be pushed into the chart of a browser-based EHR. River is the pick for a group that wants a problem-oriented chart.
River is out for a practice whose compliance lead requires SOC 2: the vendor says it is not SOC 2 certified, and Freed states Type 1 and Type 2 on its privacy page.
AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 2, 2026
When to pick each one
Freed
- Chrome extension pushes notes to browser-based EHRs
- EHR push targets include Athena, Elation, Tebra
- States SOC 2 Type 1 and Type 2
Stream
- Visits filed under the patient's medical problems
- Pro $99 per clinician monthly, billed annually
- BAA on every plan, trials included
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Freed
33of 100
Stream
19of 100
| Dimension | Freed | Stream | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 7.8 / 13 | 7.8 / 13 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 21 | 0 / 21 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 12 | 0 / 12 | 0 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 5.2 | 0 / 5.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 0 / 7 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 3 | 0 / 3 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 3 / 12 | +5.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 5 / 5 | 5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 4.2 / 6 | 0 / 6 | +4.2 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Freed
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | per month | $39 | 1 clinician, up to 40 notes per month. The page shows $59 and $39, and third parties say $39 is the sale price |
| Core | per month | $79 | unlimited notes. The page shows $59 and $79, and third parties read $79 as the price |
| Premier, monthly billing | per month, billed monthly | $119 | the page has a Monthly/Annually toggle. Third parties read $119 as monthly. EHR push sits on the top tier |
| Premier, annual billing | per month, billed annually | $104 | annual reading of the toggle, per third parties |
| Front Desk | per month, starting at | $149 | Freed's front-desk product, not the scribe. $149 per month per block of 250 calls on its own page, and the pricing page navigation lists it as starting at $149/mo |
Verified October 14, 2026 from getfreed.ai (opens in new tab).
Stream
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stream Lite | $59 | n/a | Scribe only. Audio, transcript and note are deleted after 48 hours. |
| Stream Pro, monthly billing | $149 | n/a | Per clinician. Unlimited visits, 30 day free trial with no card, BAA included. First non-clinician seat free, extra staff $25 per month. No contract or minimum term. |
| Stream Pro, annual billing | $99 | n/a | Per clinician, billed annually at $1,188 a year. Same tier as Stream Pro on monthly billing. |
| Stream Inlet Starter | $89 | n/a | Optional fax intake add-on. 500 pages per month, extra pages $0.14 each, one-time $299 fax number setup. |
| Stream Inlet Practice | $199 | n/a | Optional fax intake add-on. 1,500 pages per month. |
| Stream Inlet Practice+ | $349 | n/a | Optional fax intake add-on. 3,000 pages per month. |
| Clinic | n/a | n/a | No public price. Clinic plan for 3 or more clinicians, quoted with volume discounts. |
Evidence
Freed
Community
11 posts sourced: 3 positive, 8 neutral, 0 negative.
Stream
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Freed | Stream |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | 2022 | n/a |
| HQ | US | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full ai medical scribes comparison
The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.


