Zio vs OpenEvidence
FDA sent iRhythm a warning letter on May 25, 2023 over a Zio AT change made without clearance and marketed to a new high-risk population, and a Form 483 followed inspections in July 2024. Two Zio AT 510(k)s cleared in October 2024, iRhythm holds 18 clearances in all, and the FY2025 10-K still says FDA issues remain open and that another warning letter, a consent decree or a recall is possible. Zio AT adds mobile cardiac telemetry to technician-validated reports, which fits a cardiology group. A hospital that treats an open FDA compliance issue as disqualifying will rule it out.
OpenEvidence is a free literature tool for verified US physicians, paid for by advertising. It states HIPAA compliance under a standard Business Associate Agreement and SOC 2 Type II for the Security category. A r/emergencymedicine user reported an inaccuracy on chest x-ray and pulmonary embolism on September 30, 2025, while a r/FamilyMedicine thread on January 13, 2026 was titled "My favorite OpenEvidence feature". Access is closed to anyone who is not a verified US clinician.
Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026
Zio
by iRhythm Technologies · founded 2006
Zio ECG patch service: a deep-learning algorithm flags arrhythmias, cardiac technicians validate them, and a physician report follows.

OpenEvidence
by OpenEvidence · founded 2022
Free physician-only literature-grounded Q&A, 1M consults/day.
When to pick each one
Zio
- Zio AT adds mobile cardiac telemetry
- Two Zio AT 510(k)s cleared October 2024
OpenEvidence
- Vendor states standard BAA and SOC 2 Type II
- Vendor states NCCN collaboration and NEJM, JAMA partnerships
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Zio
69of 100
OpenEvidence
52of 100
| Dimension | Zio | OpenEvidence | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 12 / 12 | 0 / 12 | +12 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 0 / 10 | 0 / 10 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 5.6 | 0 / 5.6 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 4.8 | 0 / 4.8 | 0 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 1.2 | 0 / 1.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 21 / 21 | 21 / 21 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 9 / 9 | 4.5 / 9 | +4.5 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 12 / 12 | -3.6 |
| Pricing transparency | 1.3 / 2.5 | 2.5 / 2.5 | -1.2 |
| Years in market | 6 / 6 | 4.2 / 6 | +1.8 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Zio
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. |
OpenEvidence
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plan | n/a | n/a | Free for NPI-verified physicians (ad-funded). |
Evidence
Zio
FDA decisions
K252859 (opens in new tab)510(k)2026-05-29
ZEUS Platform (FG0501US, DQK)
K243650 (opens in new tab)510(k)2025-08-15
Zio monitor (DFG0001)
K240177 (opens in new tab)510(k)2024-10-30
Zio AT device (A100A1001, DSI)
K240029 (opens in new tab)510(k)2024-10-21
Zio AT device (A100A1001, QYX)
K222389 (opens in new tab)510(k)2023-02-15
ZEUS System
Show 13 more
K213409 (opens in new tab)510(k)2022-07-19
ZEUS System (Zio Watch)
K202359 (opens in new tab)510(k)2021-05-21
Zio Monitor
K202527 (opens in new tab)510(k)2021-05-21
ZEUS System
K190593 (opens in new tab)510(k)2019-08-23
Zio XT ECG Monitoring System, Zio AT
K181502 (opens in new tab)510(k)2018-08-29
Zio AT ECG Monitoring System, ZEUS System
K163512 (opens in new tab)510(k)2017-06-02
Zio AT ECG Monitoring System
K143513 (opens in new tab)510(k)2015-06-19
ZIO SR ECG Monitoring Service
K142681 (opens in new tab)510(k)2014-11-21
ZEUS System
K121319 (opens in new tab)510(k)2012-07-18
ZIO PATCH
K113862 (opens in new tab)510(k)2012-02-06
ZIO PATCH
K091075 (opens in new tab)510(k)2009-07-21
ZEUS (ZIO ECG UTILIZATION SERVICE) SYSTEM
K090363 (opens in new tab)510(k)2009-05-08
ZIO PATCH Z100
K081471 (opens in new tab)510(k)2008-06-24
ECARD AND CCARD
Peer-reviewed
5 PubMed records name Zio.
- Physical activity cut-points for older adults using the Zio XT onboard accelerometer. (opens in new tab)
- Validation of a Zio XT Patch Accelerometer for the Objective Assessment of Physical Activity in the Atherosclerosis Risk in Communities (ARIC) Study. (opens in new tab)
- Zio® XT Patches in Pediatrics During the COVID-19 Pandemic: Comparisons Between In-Person and Mail-Home Application. (opens in new tab)
OpenEvidence
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of October 20, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
5 PubMed records name OpenEvidence.
- Performance of Large Language Models on Diagnostic Radiology Board-Style Questions: A Comparative Evaluation of GPT-4o, Perplexity AI, and OpenEvidence. (opens in new tab)
- OpenEvidence. (opens in new tab)
- Concordance of ChatGPT, Gemini, Claude, and OpenEvidence with the 2024 AAOS guidelines on acute isolated meniscal pathology. (opens in new tab)
Community
20 posts sourced: 3 positive, 14 neutral, 3 negative.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Zio | OpenEvidence |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | 2006 | 2022 |
| HQ | US | US |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full decision support comparison
Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.
