MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Isabel Healthcare vs OpenEvidence

Free against $149 per year is the first gap. OpenEvidence costs verified US physicians nothing and is paid for by advertising, while Isabel Standard is $149 per year after a 30-day trial. The jobs differ too. OpenEvidence returns cited literature answers, and Isabel turns age, sex and symptoms into a ranked differential with don't-miss flags, which suits an emergency physician facing a vague complaint. Isabel is the weaker buy for a health system that requires a stated BAA. OpenEvidence's security page states HIPAA compliance, a standard BAA and a SOC 2 Type II report for the Security category, and Isabel states none of the three. Isabel lists the Cerner App Gallery, Epic info-button access and an API, where OpenEvidence names no integration and states no FDA status. Two Reddit threads from September 2025 report an error and journal bias in OpenEvidence. Access is limited to verified US clinicians, so a physician practicing outside the US cannot get in.

Decision support · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Isabel Healthcare logo

Isabel Healthcare

by Isabel Healthcare · founded 1999

Differential-diagnosis generator with self-triage and educator products. The vendor says it is used in over 90 countries and 14 languages.

OpenEvidence logo

OpenEvidence

by OpenEvidence · founded 2022

Free physician-only literature-grounded Q&A, 1M consults/day.

When to pick each one

Isabel Healthcare

  • Ranked differential with don't-miss flags from symptoms
  • Standard is $149 per year after a 30-day trial
  • Links to DynaMed, DynaMedex and BMJ Best Practice
Read the full Isabel Healthcare review

OpenEvidence

  • Free for NPI-verified physicians, ad-funded
  • Cited literature answers, NEJM and JAMA partners
  • BAA and SOC 2 Type II stated by the vendor
Read the full OpenEvidence review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Isabel Healthcare

35of 100

Competitive

OpenEvidence

52of 100

Solid choice
Score by dimension for Isabel Healthcare and OpenEvidence
DimensionIsabel HealthcareOpenEvidenceDifference
FDA clearance0 / 120 / 120
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers14.7 / 2121 / 21-6.3
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 94.5 / 9-4.5
Funding & adoption signal6 / 1212 / 12-6
Pricing transparency2.5 / 2.52.5 / 2.50
Years in market6 / 64.2 / 6+1.8

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Isabel Healthcare

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Standardn/a$149EUR 139 incl. VAT. 30-day free trial.
Premiumn/a$199EUR 179 incl. VAT. Adds an LLM layer (English only).
Student / residentn/a$49Not available to EU students. 50% discount for listed emerging economies.
Institutionaln/an/aDemo request, no public price. The API has been available since 2010.

OpenEvidence

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Plann/an/aFree for NPI-verified physicians (ad-funded).

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecIsabel HealthcareOpenEvidence
Free tierYesYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Founded19992022
HQUKUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.