Isabel Healthcare vs VisualDx
VisualDx sells an image library with a diagnosis builder on top, and Isabel takes typed demographics and features. The library holds more than 50,000 clinical images across skin tones and body sites, and for a primary care physician who sees rashes every week that is the reason to pay. The image matching a rash-heavy practice wants sits with VisualDx, not Isabel. VisualDx Elite is $299.99 per year billed annually and the Core education plan is $249.99. Isabel Standard is $149 per year with a 30-day trial, while the VisualDx trial has no stated length. On integration, VisualDx lists "major EHRs" without naming one, and Isabel names the Cerner App Gallery and Epic info-button access. Neither states FDA clearance. VisualDx lists no accuracy data for VisualDx AI, the image analysis inside paid plans. Cancelling VisualDx earns no refund for the current period, though auto-renewed annual plans get a 30-day grace window. VisualDx Elite costs a resident paying out of pocket roughly six times Isabel's $49 per year plan, and there it loses.
Decision support · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Isabel Healthcare
by Isabel Healthcare · founded 1999
Differential-diagnosis generator with self-triage and educator products. The vendor says it is used in over 90 countries and 14 languages.

VisualDx
by VisualDx · founded 1999
Differential diagnosis builder with 50,000+ clinical images across skin tones and body sites.
When to pick each one
Isabel Healthcare
- Residents pay $49 per year
- Standard is $149 per year
- Merck Manual and PubMed links on Standard
VisualDx
- More than 50,000 images across skin tones and body sites
- Differential builder ranks diagnoses from findings
- Elite plan is $299.99 per year billed annually
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Isabel Healthcare
35of 100
VisualDx
48of 100
| Dimension | Isabel Healthcare | VisualDx | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 0 / 12 | 0 / 12 | 0 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 0 / 10 | 0 / 10 | 0 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 5.6 | 0 / 5.6 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 4.8 | 0 / 4.8 | 0 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 1.2 | 0 / 1.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 14.7 / 21 | 14.7 / 21 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 9 | 9 / 9 | -9 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 6 / 12 | 8.4 / 12 | -2.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 2.5 / 2.5 | 2.5 / 2.5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 6 / 6 | 6 / 6 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Isabel Healthcare
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | n/a | $149 | EUR 139 incl. VAT. 30-day free trial. |
| Premium | n/a | $199 | EUR 179 incl. VAT. Adds an LLM layer (English only). |
| Student / resident | n/a | $49 | Not available to EU students. 50% discount for listed emerging economies. |
| Institutional | n/a | n/a | Demo request, no public price. The API has been available since 2010. |
VisualDx
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Core (education) | n/a | $249.99 | Shown as $39.99 or $20.83 per month, billed annually. Free trial length is not stated. Annual plans that auto-renew have a 30-day grace period for a full refund of the renewed fee. |
| Elite (clinicians) | n/a | $299.99 | Shown as $49.99 or $24.99 per month, billed annually. |
| Groups and Enterprise | n/a | n/a | Contact for pricing, including small groups of 2 to 5 users. |
Evidence
Isabel Healthcare
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of October 20, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
2 PubMed records name Isabel Healthcare.
- Cracking the code: a head-to-head comparison of expert clinicians and artificial intelligence in diagnosing rare diseases. (opens in new tab)
- Is language an issue? Accuracy of the German computerized diagnostic decision support system ISABEL and cross-validation with the English counterpart. (opens in new tab)
VisualDx
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of October 20, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
4 PubMed records name VisualDx.
- Early Perspectives on Utilization of a Clinical Decision Support Tool: A Mixed-Methods Study. (opens in new tab)
- Experiences, challenges and lessons while implementing a clinical decision support system in Botswana. (opens in new tab)
- Racial disparities in skin tone representation of dermatomyositis rashes: a systematic review. (opens in new tab)
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Isabel Healthcare | VisualDx |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | 1999 | 1999 |
| HQ | UK | US |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full decision support comparison
Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.
