Kaplan USMLE vs SimConverse
SimConverse gives a program director AI models the vendor says it builds and hosts itself, proprietary and single-purpose, with no third-party large language models or external AI APIs in the learner or educator experience. The vendor lists ISO 27001 certified data storage and GDPR compliance, and a BAA is not stated. Kaplan's customer is a student with a Step 1 date, paying once for a course.
Kaplan's AI Tutor, which Kaplan says was trained exclusively on Kaplan content, sits inside products priced for that exam. The Step 1 Qbank, 3,200+ questions, is from $199, one-time, and the FlexTrack On Demand course is from $1,299, one-time. Live Online is $3,200, one-time, for six weeks of live instruction and three one-on-one advising sessions. A 7-day Qbank trial is offered, and the Live Online money-back guarantee carries footnoted terms. The three tiers differ in how much teaching comes with the questions.
Medical education · Reviewed November 2, 2026
Kaplan USMLE
by Kaplan Inc.
USMLE prep from Kaplan: Qbank, on-demand and live online courses, with an AI Tutor trained on Kaplan content.
SimConverse
by Dymaxion Technologies Pty Ltd
AI simulated patients for communication training in health professions education.
When to pick each one
Kaplan USMLE
- Step 1 Qbank from $199, one-time, 7-day trial
- Live Online $3,200 one-time with advising sessions
SimConverse
- Vendor says its models are proprietary, not third-party LLMs
- Vendor lists ISO 27001 data storage and GDPR
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Kaplan USMLE
33of 100
SimConverse
32of 100
| Dimension | Kaplan USMLE | SimConverse | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 4.9 / 7 | -4.9 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 1.8 | 0 / 1.8 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 3 / 12 | +5.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 3.3 / 6.5 | 3.3 / 6.5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 7.8 | 0 / 7.8 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Kaplan USMLE
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Step 1 Qbank | n/a | n/a | From $199. A reseller page lists 1 month $199, 3 months $249, 6 months $299, 12 months $399. 7-day free trial. |
| FlexTrack / On Demand course | n/a | n/a | From $1,299. Shown as $1,040 with a 20% promo code in October 2026. |
| Live Online course | n/a | n/a | $3,200, down from $3,999. Six weeks of live instruction and three 1-on-1 advising sessions. The money-back pass guarantee has footnoted terms that were not read. |
SimConverse
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. |
Evidence
Kaplan USMLE
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
SimConverse
Peer-reviewed
4 PubMed records name SimConverse.
- Artificial intelligence-driven patient history and symptoms combined with slit-lamp eye simulation for enhancing the clinical training of students. (opens in new tab)
- The Effect of Generative Artificial Intelligence Simulation on First-Year Baccalaureate Nursing Students' Therapeutic Communication Skill. (opens in new tab)
- Advances in evaluating and delivering nontechnical skills training: The use of simulation, robotics, artificial intelligence and virtual reality. (opens in new tab)
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Kaplan USMLE | SimConverse |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | n/a | AU |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full medical education comparison
USMLE prep (UWorld, AMBOSS, Anki), specialty learning (SketchyMedical, Pathoma, Boards & Beyond), CME (Healio AI, AMA Ed Hub). The most affiliate-rich category in healthcare AI.
