MedScrub vs Medwriter
MedWriter Standard is $99 per user per month and MedScrub Solo is $99 per month, currency not stated on either page, while MedScrub Practice is $89 per provider per month billed annually for 2 to 10 providers. The price is the only thing they share. MedWriter is aimed at outpatient and psychiatry practices and transcribes the visit live, then drafts the note, ICD-10 and E/M suggestions, referral letters and prior authorizations. Its page lists Allscripts, athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, Practice Fusion, AdvancedMD, Healthie and IntakeQ, and its terms say users must validate every output. EHR integration through a Chrome extension sits in the Pro tier, which shows "Reach Out" instead of a price.
MedScrub reads the chart. It produces overnight summaries, trended labs and open plans from prior visits, and offers chat over the chart. Its Solo and Practice tiers point to a single clinician or a small practice reviewing patients before clinic. The vendor says it strips all 18 HIPAA Safe Harbor identifiers on the clinician's own machine before any model sees the data. Recording the visit and reviewing the chart are separate purchases.
AI medical scribes · Reviewed November 2, 2026
When to pick each one
MedScrub
- Overnight chart summaries and trended labs
- Practice tier at $89 per provider monthly
- Vendor says it runs on the clinician's machine
Medwriter
- Records the visit with live transcription
- Standard at $99 per user per month
- Offers a BAA
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
MedScrub
36of 100
Medwriter
37of 100
| Dimension | MedScrub | Medwriter | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 0 / 13 | 7.8 / 13 | -7.8 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 10.5 / 21 | 10.5 / 21 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 12 / 12 | 4.8 / 12 | +7.2 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 5.2 | 0 / 5.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 0 / 7 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 3 | 0 / 3 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 3 / 12 | 3 / 12 | 0 |
| Pricing transparency | 5 / 5 | 5 / 5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 0 / 6 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
MedScrub
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hobby | n/a | n/a | For developers: 500 credits at sign-up. The page does not label its currency; USD is assumed from the "$" signs. |
| Solo | $99 | n/a | Annual billing available; the page says it saves $600 a year. Currency not labeled; USD assumed. |
| Practice | $89 | n/a | For 2 to 10 providers. Save $480 a year versus monthly. Example: two providers at $178 a month. Currency not labeled; USD assumed. |
| Credits 3,000 | n/a | n/a | Developer credit bundle of 3,000 credits. Credits never expire. Currency not labeled; USD assumed. |
| Credits 10,000 | n/a | n/a | Developer credit bundle of 10,000 credits. Credits never expire. Currency not labeled; USD assumed. |
| Credits 100,000 | n/a | n/a | Developer credit bundle of 100,000 credits. Credits never expire. Currency not labeled; USD assumed. |
| Nonprofit | n/a | n/a | Free for 501(c)(3) healthcare nonprofits with a determination letter. |
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Custom pricing. |
Medwriter
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | $99 | n/a | Unlimited sessions, template library, hint words and additional document drafting. No credit card required, cancel anytime. Trial length and refund not stated. |
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | The Pro tier is listed as "Reach Out" with no price. It adds custom templates, EHR integration through a Chrome extension and E/M coding suggestions. No public price. |
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | MedScrub | Medwriter |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Epic, Oracle Health, athenahealth, eClinicalWorks | Allscripts, Athenahealth, eClinicalWorks, Practice Fusion, AdvancedMD, Healthie, IntakeQ |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | n/a | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full ai medical scribes comparison
The best AI medical scribe for most US physicians is Abridge for hospital systems, Freed AI for solo practice (plans from $39 to $119 per month as of October 2026), Heidi Health for multilingual capture, and DAX Copilot for Microsoft-shop hospitals. Each pick below names its primary EHR integration, pricing model, and the clinician communities that surface it most often. Enterprise scribes are quote-based, with third-party estimates of roughly $208 to $600 per provider per month as of October 2026.

