MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

SimpleSense vs OpenEvidence

Nanowear's blood pressure monitor was validated in a prospective multicentre study of 303 subjects over four weeks, with Nanowear authors and internal validation only. The company holds four 510(k) clearances, K161431 in 2016 through K232053 in December 2023, and sells a wearable to heart failure programs.

OpenEvidence goes to individual physicians, so no purchase decision connects the two. It answers clinical questions from cited literature, costs NPI-verified physicians nothing and is funded by advertising. Its security page states HIPAA compliance under a BAA, SOC 2 Type II, AES-256 at rest and an annual penetration test. The homepage and security page state no FDA status and no EHR integration. A 2026 observational study compared GPT-4o, Perplexity AI and OpenEvidence on radiology board-style questions, and a medRxiv pilot that is not peer reviewed reported 31% accuracy for quick search on subspecialty scenarios.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

SimpleSense logo

SimpleSense

by Nanowear · founded 2014

Cloth wearable with 510(k) cleared AI cloud analytics for remote cardiac monitoring and cuffless blood pressure.

OpenEvidence logo

OpenEvidence

by OpenEvidence · founded 2022

Free physician-only literature-grounded Q&A, 1M consults/day.

When to pick each one

SimpleSense

  • Prospective study, 303 subjects over four weeks
  • Four 510(k) numbers from K161431 to K232053
Read the full SimpleSense review

OpenEvidence

  • Free for NPI-verified physicians, ad-funded
  • Cited answers from medical literature and guidelines
  • Annual penetration test and AES-256 at rest
Read the full OpenEvidence review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

SimpleSense

49of 100

Solid choice

OpenEvidence

52of 100

Solid choice
Score by dimension for SimpleSense and OpenEvidence
DimensionSimpleSenseOpenEvidenceDifference
FDA clearance12 / 120 / 12+12
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers14.7 / 2121 / 21-6.3
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review4.5 / 94.5 / 90
Funding & adoption signal3 / 1212 / 12-9
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.52.5 / 2.5-1.2
Years in market6 / 64.2 / 6+1.8

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

SimpleSense

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price.

OpenEvidence

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Plann/an/aFree for NPI-verified physicians (ad-funded).

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecSimpleSenseOpenEvidence
Free tierNo / unverifiedYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Founded20142022
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.