Octagos vs VisualDx
A cardiology clinic with an implant transmission backlog is the Octagos buyer, and Atlas AI plus specialist review is the service. Its pricing page names Pro for software only, Premium with clinical and patient engagement services, Flex on demand and Custom, with no amounts shown. The founder is a practicing electrophysiologist.
A clinician or department working through skin findings is the VisualDx buyer, drawing on an image library and a differential builder, with individual plans and quote-based groups. The company was founded in Rochester in 1999.
On FDA, a 2020 DermExpert FAQ describes VisualDx as exempt from FDA regulation, and Octagos's AI overview page says nothing on whether Atlas AI is cleared, exempt or classified otherwise. A dermatology office would not shortlist a device-transmission service, and a device clinic would not shortlist an image atlas.
Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026
When to pick each one
Octagos
- Software-only tier plus specialist-review tiers, no amounts shown
- Triage of cardiac implant transmissions
VisualDx
- Differential builder with skin image library
- Skin-of-color image coverage
- Individual and group plans
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Octagos
43of 100
VisualDx
48of 100
| Dimension | Octagos | VisualDx | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 0 / 12 | 0 / 12 | 0 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 10 / 10 | 0 / 10 | +10 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 2.8 / 5.6 | 0 / 5.6 | +2.8 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 4.8 / 4.8 | 0 / 4.8 | +4.8 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 1.2 | 0 / 1.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 14.7 / 21 | 14.7 / 21 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 9 | 9 / 9 | -9 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 3 / 12 | 8.4 / 12 | -5.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 1.3 / 2.5 | 2.5 / 2.5 | -1.2 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 6 / 6 | -6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Octagos
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. |
VisualDx
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Core (education) | n/a | $249.99 | Shown as $39.99 or $20.83 per month, billed annually. Free trial length is not stated. Annual plans that auto-renew have a 30-day grace period for a full refund of the renewed fee. |
| Elite (clinicians) | n/a | $299.99 | Shown as $49.99 or $24.99 per month, billed annually. |
| Groups and Enterprise | n/a | n/a | Contact for pricing, including small groups of 2 to 5 users. |
Evidence
Octagos
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of November 2, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
2 PubMed records name Octagos.
VisualDx
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of October 20, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
4 PubMed records name VisualDx.
- Early Perspectives on Utilization of a Clinical Decision Support Tool: A Mixed-Methods Study. (opens in new tab)
- Experiences, challenges and lessons while implementing a clinical decision support system in Botswana. (opens in new tab)
- Racial disparities in skin tone representation of dermatomyositis rashes: a systematic review. (opens in new tab)
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Octagos | VisualDx |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Epic, Oracle Health, athenahealth, medent, NextGen | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | 1999 |
| HQ | US | US |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full decision support comparison
Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.


