MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

OnlineMedEd vs Picmonic

Picmonic's own figures are 2-4 minute story mnemonics and 10,000+ multiple-choice questions with spaced repetition. TrueLearn has owned it since June 2021. Picmonic's comparison page, updated March 2025, lists the USMLE 1 and 2 Medicine plan at about $180 per year or $287.76 for two years, and a 2026 price is not confirmed. The 5-day limited trial needs no card, and the pass guarantee requires 3+ months of regular use covering 500+ Picmonics before a failed board exam earns a refund or free extension.

OnlineMedEd's 6-month term is $48 per month ($288), and the annual plan is $360. Whiteboard lectures, 3,000+ pages of notes and 3,300+ MD questions run from preclinical years through Step 2 and COMLEX, and Archer Review took over the company in March 2025. A student who wants lectures covering clinical rotations picks OnlineMedEd. A student capping the year at about $200 pays roughly double there, and OnlineMedEd's pricing page states no free trial or refund policy.

Medical education · Reviewed November 1, 2026

OnlineMedEd logo

OnlineMedEd

by OnlineMedEd (Archer Review)

Whiteboard video lessons, illustrated notes and question banks for MD, DO and PA students, from preclinical years to Step 1, Step 2 and COMLEX.

Picmonic logo

Picmonic

by TrueLearn

Visual mnemonic videos (2,000+ lessons) with 10,000+ practice questions and a pass guarantee for medical and nursing exams.

When to pick each one

OnlineMedEd

  • Whiteboard lectures through Step 2 and COMLEX
  • $360 per year, billed annually
Read the full OnlineMedEd review

Picmonic

  • Story mnemonics and 10,000+ questions
  • About $180 per year for USMLE 1 and 2
  • Pass guarantee with usage conditions
Read the full Picmonic review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

OnlineMedEd

45of 100

Solid choice

Picmonic

36of 100

Competitive
Score by dimension for OnlineMedEd and Picmonic
DimensionOnlineMedEdPicmonicDifference
Peer-reviewed papers0 / 70 / 70
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 1.80 / 1.80
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 126 / 12+2.4
Pricing transparency6.5 / 6.56.5 / 6.50
Years in market0 / 7.80 / 7.80

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

OnlineMedEd

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Annual (MD, DO or PA)n/a$360Each program is priced the same. The pricing page lists no free tier.
6 months (MD, DO or PA)n/an/aBilled $288 every 6 months.
1 month (MD, DO or PA)$79n/aNo free trial or refund policy is stated on the page.

Picmonic

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Medicine (USMLE 1 and 2), 12 monthsn/a$180About $180 per year per Picmonic's own comparison page (updated March 2025). The 2026 price is not confirmed on a live page. picmonic.com/pricing shows no figures. Other programs have separate pages.
Medicine (USMLE 1 and 2), 24 monthsn/an/aPer Picmonic's own comparison page (updated March 2025).

Evidence

OnlineMedEd

Community

81 posts sourced: 12 positive, 59 neutral, 10 negative.

Picmonic

No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecOnlineMedEdPicmonic
Free tierYesNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/an/a
HQn/an/a

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Open the full medical education comparison

USMLE prep (UWorld, AMBOSS, Anki), specialty learning (SketchyMedical, Pathoma, Boards & Beyond), CME (Healio AI, AMA Ed Hub). The most affiliate-rich category in healthcare AI.