MedAI Verdict
Surgical AI

AI Surgical Tools

Fundamental XR

by Fundamental XR

Last verified

Haptic VR training platform for surgeons and medtech teams, with learning analytics.

At a glance

Pricing
No public price.
HIPAA
Not disclosed
SOC 2
Not disclosed
EHRs
—
Founded
—
On this page

Independent score  ·  By our public rubric

7/100Tracked
How it’s computed →
  • Regulatory & Compliance
    0/28

    No FDA clearance listed

  • Clinical Integration
    0/26

    No EHR integrations listed

  • Evidence Strength
    0/28.8

    No peer-reviewed coverage

  • Vendor & Market
    6/18

    Early-stage company

  • Sentiment & Transparency
    2.5/14

    Pricing on request, no public amounts

▸ Show all 11 dimensions

Regulatory & Compliance

  • FDA clearance0/18

    No FDA clearance listed

  • HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0/10

    No public HIPAA/SOC2/BAA attestation

Clinical Integration

  • EHR integrations (count)0/14

    No EHR integrations listed

  • Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0/8

    None of the top-3 EHRs covered

  • Bidirectional write-back0/4

    No bidirectional write-back documented

Evidence Strength

  • Peer-reviewed papers0/21

    No peer-reviewed coverage

  • RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0/8

    No RCT, meta-analysis, or systematic review

Vendor & Market

  • Funding & adoption signal6/12

    Early-stage company

  • Years in market0/6

    Founded year not recorded

Sentiment & Transparency

  • Clinician sentiment (Reddit)0/9

    No clinician sentiment data available

  • Pricing transparency3/5

    Pricing on request, no public amounts

Scored October 15, 2026 · Public scoring method v1.1.0

Bottom line

Haptic VR training platform for surgeons and medtech teams, with learning analytics.

No public price.

Editorial review  ·  By MedAI Verdict

Bottom line

Fundamental XR, formerly FundamentalVR, is a London company selling haptic virtual reality training for surgical and device procedures. A trainee wears a headset, uses a haptic device and practices on a simulated procedure while the platform measures what they do. It is a training simulator and not an operating-room AI tool, and the teams the site addresses are clinical, manufacturing and growth teams inside MedTech companies. The site lists no price, and the May 2024 press release cites no validation for its AI features.

What is Fundamental XR and who is behind it?

The company has rebranded. fundamentalvr.com now redirects to fundamentalxr.com, and fundamentalsurgery.com carries a "We have rebranded" notice. PitchBook lists Fundamental XR as formerly Beaver Communications and Fundamental Surgery. The platform itself is called Fundamental Surgery, and the company's 2024 press release calls it a "global leader in immersive surgical training" with patented HapticVR.

CB Insights gives London as the base and 2012 as the founding year. Richard Vincent is co-founder and CEO, and Vicky Smalley was named CTO in May 2024. TechCrunch reported a $20M Series B in August 2022 led by EQT Life Sciences through its LSP Health Economics Fund 2, with Downing Ventures participating. Series A was $5M in 2019. Tracxn counts $39.6M across 6 rounds and a $5M strategic investment in October 2024.

How does the training work?

The homepage describes "the complete training solution for clinical, manufacturing, and growth teams in MedTech." HapticVR simulates touch, resistance and tissue. An Advanced Insights Platform tracks usage and measures learning, and imaging simulation can run on the user's own device. A "Train Together" mode supports collaboration. Training runs immersively in a headset, in an app or on the web, and CB Insights dates a browser-based "Immersive Web" launch to February 2026. The site says it is "ready to use or integrate with any single-sign on system."

The May 2024 press release added AI features: predictive analytics, gesture tracking, real-time risk detection and an AI Tutor. It says predictive analytics reached "98.5%" accuracy in some cases and cites no validation.

What are the company's numbers based on?

The homepage claims 95% skill retention, 40% faster learning and more than 500K training hours, and the vendor supplies all three. Frost and Sullivan awards, a Best Practices Award in 2023 and Company of the Year in 2026, are shown by the vendor and are not clinical outcomes.

The May 2024 release names AAO, AAOS and the Royal College of Surgeons of England as partners or accreditors. Those are training affiliations and not regulatory approvals.

What does it cost?

No price list is published.

The verdict

Fundamental XR fits MedTech teams that train people on specific procedures, with a $20M Series B and several accreditation partners behind it. The retention and learning-speed figures come from the vendor, and the AI features rest on a 2024 announcement with one accuracy figure and no validation cited. A surgeon or hospital looking for AI at the point of care is not the buyer, because the product is a simulator.

Editorial review last generated October 15, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.

Pricing

What it costs

All tiers are custom-quoted. The vendor does not publish per-provider list pricing.

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprise——No public price.

Source: vendor pricing page. Last checked October 15, 2026.

Vendor stability

Who builds it

It was previously known as FundamentalVR, an acquisition or rebrand that healthcare-AI buyers should track when reviewing prior independent coverage.