- Fixed-length access, not a subscription. Free 5-day trial with 120 high-yield questions.
- Not disclosed
- Not disclosed
- —
- —
- None stated. Listed as a reference for comparison.

TrueLearn SmartBank
by TrueLearn LLC
Question banks for USMLE, COMLEX, PANCE, residency, nursing, therapy and pharmacy exams, with analytics against the national average.
On this page
- Regulatory & Compliance0/6.2
No FDA clearance listed
- Clinical Integration0/2.6
No EHR integrations listed
- Evidence Strength0/8.8
No peer-reviewed coverage
- Vendor & Market6/19.8
Early-stage company
- Sentiment & Transparency3.3/20
Pricing on request, no public amounts
▸ Show all 11 dimensions▾ Hide dimension detail
- FDA clearance0/1
No FDA clearance listed
- HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0/5
No public HIPAA/SOC2/BAA attestation
- EHR integrations (count)0/1
No EHR integrations listed
- Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0/1
None of the top-3 EHRs covered
- Bidirectional write-back0/0
No bidirectional write-back documented
- Peer-reviewed papers0/7
No peer-reviewed coverage
- RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0/2
No RCT, meta-analysis, or systematic review
- Funding & adoption signal6/12
Early-stage company
- Years in market0/8
Founded year not recorded
- Clinician sentiment (Reddit)0/14
No clinician sentiment data available
- Pricing transparency3/7
Pricing on request, no public amounts
Question banks for USMLE, COMLEX, PANCE, residency, nursing, therapy and pharmacy exams, with analytics against the national average.
Fixed-length access, not a subscription. Free 5-day trial with 120 high-yield questions.
Bottom line
TrueLearn SmartBanks are timed, exam-style question banks with comparative analytics, sold for USMLE, COMLEX, PANCE/PANRE, residency in-training exams, nursing, pharmacy, therapy and dental hygiene. The Step 1 bank starts at $149 for 30 days and tops out at $419 for 545 days. It fits a student who wants a second question source next to their main bank. The product pages describe no generative-AI tutor.
Who sells TrueLearn?
TrueLearn LLC is based in Charlotte, North Carolina, and says it takes "The Data-Driven Approach to Exam Preparation." The founder was Dr. Joshua Courtney, according to the LLR Partners announcement. LLR invested in May 2020 and did not disclose the amount. The founding year depends on who you ask: 2008 in the LLR press release and Radiology Business, 2007 in PitchBook, 2013 in CB Insights.
The company has since acquired adjacent products. Picmonic joined on 10 June 2021, APEX Anesthesia Review followed in 2022, and the radiology education vendor Medality was acquired too. Picmonic remains for sale as an add-on to SmartBanks.
What does a SmartBank actually do?
Each bank offers timed, untimed and tutor modes and is mapped to the exam's content outline. Explanations end in "Bottom Lines", short summary statements. Once you have answered 100 questions, the analytics compare you with the national average. The Step 1 bank holds "Over 3,200 USMLE Step 1 Practice Questions."
TrueLearn also sells an institutions product that lets a programme assign questions and track performance. The Step 1 page carries a banner for "SmartInsights", an AI study partner, without saying what it does.
The vendor claims "increased retention of up to 331%!" and cites no study for it.
How much does TrueLearn cost?
Access is for a fixed length of time, not a subscription. For Step 1, TrueLearn's page lists $149 for 30 days, $199 for 90 days, $299 for 180 days, $399 for 365 days and $419 for 545 days. Adding Picmonic raises those to $159, $269, $369, $489 for 365 days and $539 for 730 days. The page prints two add-on tiers that are both labelled 180 Days.
The USMLE Mastery Bundle costs $999 for 365 days and covers Step 1 plus Step 2 CK and shelf exams, which TrueLearn advertises as a saving of $679. A free five-day trial gives 120 high-yield questions. Tiers from $199 up carry a "First-Time Pass Guarantee" whose terms the page does not print. COMLEX Level 1 pricing differs between sources, with a 2025 third-party comparison quoting $339 for 90 days and $549 for a year.
A student with a two-month dedicated block pays $199 for 90 days. The 365-day bank at $399 suits someone who starts early and works through the year.
What do users say?
The homepage testimonials, from an occupational therapy student and a surgery resident preparing for the ABSITE, are selected by the vendor. Because the bank holds no patient data, security attestations matter little here.
Who should buy it?
A second bank for a USMLE or COMLEX candidate is the clearest fit. A student who wants an AI tutor gets only the SmartInsights banner, whose function the page does not describe.
The verdict
TrueLearn is a question bank with analytics, priced from $149 to $419 for Step 1. No study backs its 331% retention claim. The 90-day tier at $199 is the sensible entry point for a short study block.
Editorial review last generated October 15, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.
What it costs
All tiers are custom-quoted. The vendor does not publish per-provider list pricing.
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Step 1 SmartBank, 30 days | — | — | Fixed-length access, not a subscription. Free 5-day trial with 120 high-yield questions. |
| Step 1 SmartBank, 90 days | — | — | First-Time Pass Guarantee on tiers from $199, terms not on the page. |
| Step 1 SmartBank, 180 days | — | — | Picmonic add-on versions cost more. Two tiers on the page are both labelled 180 Days. |
| Step 1 SmartBank, 365 days | — | — | With the Picmonic add-on $489. |
| Step 1 SmartBank, 545 days | — | — | Longest Step 1 access on the page. |
| USMLE Mastery Bundle | — | — | Step 1 and Step 2 CK/Shelf, 365 days. The page says Save $679. |
Source: vendor pricing page. Last checked October 15, 2026.



