Avo vs VisualDx
Avo sells through a demo booking and has no public price. VisualDx posts its prices: Core, the education tier, at $249.99 per year and Elite for clinicians at $299.99 per year, both billed annually, with groups of two to five users on contact-for-pricing. The product is a differential diagnosis builder, and the vendor lists 50,000+ clinical images across skin tones and body sites, plus VisualDx AI image analysis inside the paid plans. No FDA clearance is stated, and a 2020 vendor FAQ for its DermExpert app says VisualDx is exempt from FDA regulation. The homepage says major EHRs without naming any, and the vendor cites HL7 infobutton and SMART on FHIR work since 2012.
VisualDx fits an individual clinician or a small group. Avo's ambient scribe and EHR chatbot are a hospital quality lead's purchase, and a single clinician cannot start that rollout without booking a demo.
Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026
When to pick each one
VisualDx
- Core $249.99 and Elite $299.99 per year
- 50,000+ clinical images across skin tones
- Free trial available
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Avo
18of 100
VisualDx
48of 100
| Dimension | Avo | VisualDx | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| FDA clearance | 0 / 12 | 0 / 12 | 0 |
| HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA | 6 / 10 | 0 / 10 | +6 |
| EHR integrations (count) | 1.7 / 5.6 | 0 / 5.6 | +1.7 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 3.4 / 4.8 | 0 / 4.8 | +3.4 |
| Bidirectional write-back | 0 / 1.2 | 0 / 1.2 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 21 | 14.7 / 21 | -14.7 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 9 | 9 / 9 | -9 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 3 / 12 | 8.4 / 12 | -5.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 1.3 / 2.5 | 2.5 / 2.5 | -1.2 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 6 / 6 | -6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Avo
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. The pricing page returns 404; the site offers a demo booking only. |
VisualDx
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Core (education) | n/a | $249.99 | Shown as $39.99 or $20.83 per month, billed annually. Free trial length is not stated. Annual plans that auto-renew have a 30-day grace period for a full refund of the renewed fee. |
| Elite (clinicians) | n/a | $299.99 | Shown as $49.99 or $24.99 per month, billed annually. |
| Groups and Enterprise | n/a | n/a | Contact for pricing, including small groups of 2 to 5 users. |
Evidence
Avo
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of November 2, 2026.
VisualDx
FDA decisions
No FDA decision cited in our research as of October 20, 2026.
Peer-reviewed
4 PubMed records name VisualDx.
- Early Perspectives on Utilization of a Clinical Decision Support Tool: A Mixed-Methods Study. (opens in new tab)
- Experiences, challenges and lessons while implementing a clinical decision support system in Botswana. (opens in new tab)
- Racial disparities in skin tone representation of dermatomyositis rashes: a systematic review. (opens in new tab)
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Avo | VisualDx |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Epic, athenahealth, MEDITECH | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | 1999 |
| HQ | US | US |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full decision support comparison
Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.


