MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Boards and Beyond vs Pathoma

A student who wants one pathology course and a book to hold should buy Pathoma. Pro costs $84.95 for 3 months, $99.95 for 12 months or $119.95 for 21 months, one-time, with the 2026 paperback included and all sales final. A free account gives a one-month trial with 6 videos and no book. The content is 35+ hours of pathology taught by Dr. Husain Sattar across 19 chapters, and Northwestern's list of resources used by high Step 1 scorers has students using it only in the preparatory phase.

Boards and Beyond fits the student who wants one teacher across every Step 1 subject, with 490+ videos tied to 2,300+ questions, from $24 per week to $399 for two years. The spend over Pathoma's $119.95 for 21 months buys every Step 1 subject with questions attached. Pathoma is sold as Step 1 and medical course review, so a Step 2 CK candidate needs Boards and Beyond's Step 2-3 course instead.

Medical education · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Boards and Beyond logo

Boards and Beyond

by McGraw Hill Education

Step 1 video course taught by Dr. Jason Ryan.

Pathoma logo

Pathoma

by Pathoma LLC (Dr. Husain Sattar)

Pathology video course + textbook.

When to pick each one

Boards and Beyond

  • Whole-Step 1 coverage, 490+ videos, 2,300+ questions
  • Step 2-3 course, 1,300+ questions
  • Free 3 months with multi-year AMA student membership
Read the full Boards and Beyond review

Pathoma

  • $99.95 for 12 months, paperback included
  • 35+ hours by one pathologist, 19 chapters
  • Free 1-month trial account
Read the full Pathoma review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Boards and Beyond

33of 100

Competitive

Pathoma

61of 100

Top-ranked
Score by dimension for Boards and Beyond and Pathoma
DimensionBoards and BeyondPathomaDifference
Peer-reviewed papers0 / 72.8 / 7-2.8
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 1.80 / 1.80
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 1212 / 12-3.6
Pricing transparency3.3 / 6.56.5 / 6.5-3.2
Years in market0 / 7.80 / 7.80

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Boards and Beyond

TierBilling periodPriceNotes
1 month1 month, one-time$89same price for Step 1 Preclinical and Steps 2-3 Clinical
Show all 9 price points
3 months3 months, one-time$149same price for both products
6 months6 months, one-time$199same price for both products
1 year1 year, one-time$249same price for both products
18 months18 months, one-time$349same price for both products
2 years2 years, one-time$399longest term
1 week1 week, one-time$24lowest price quoted on boardsbeyond.com/Pricing ('from $24 for one week')
Clinical Confidence2 price points
Clinical Confidence6 months, one-time$149boardsbeyond.com quotes $149 for 6 months. Product not confirmed
Clinical Confidence1 year, one-time$199boardsbeyond.com quotes $199 for a full year. Product not confirmed

Verified October 14, 2026 from mheducation.com (opens in new tab).

Pathoma

TierBilling periodPriceNotes
Free account1-month trialFree6 videos, no book
Pro3 price points
Pro3 months, one-time$84.95includes the 2026 paperback
Pro12 months, one-time$99.95includes the 2026 paperback
Pro21 months, one-time$119.95includes the 2026 paperback

Verified October 14, 2026 from pathoma.com (opens in new tab).

Evidence

Boards and Beyond

No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecBoards and BeyondPathoma
Free tierNo / unverifiedYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/an/a
HQn/an/a

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full medical education comparison

USMLE prep (UWorld, AMBOSS, Anki), specialty learning (SketchyMedical, Pathoma, Boards & Beyond), CME (Healio AI, AMA Ed Hub). The most affiliate-rich category in healthcare AI.