Clair vs Epocrates
Epocrates lists epocrates+ at $24.99 per month or $179.99 per year, currency not stated, with a group plan for teams and residents. Its about page places it in the athenahealth family. Undated reviews on GetApp and Software Advice mention sponsor ads at app open and features behind the paywall, and the epocrates+ page gives no validation for its beta AI Assist.
Clair targets clinicians and pharmacists who put free-text clinical questions to it, and the vendor says answers carry references. askclair.ai offers a free sign-up and states no limits, and both askclair.ai and cary.health/clair leave the price of full access unstated. A 2026 study in J Am Coll Clin Pharm from the University of Illinois Chicago put 30 drug-information questions to five chatbots including Clair. The chatbots as a group scored below pharmacy faculty, and the abstract gives no Clair score.
A resident planning a monthly app budget can work from Epocrates' stated figure, which makes Clair the weaker pick for that resident, since its free sign-up has no stated limits and its full-access price is unstated.
Drug info · Reviewed November 2, 2026
When to pick each one
Epocrates
- $24.99 per month, currency not stated
- Calculators, herbs and supplements, ICD-10 codes
- Group plan for teams and residents
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Clair
35of 100
Epocrates
74of 100
| Dimension | Clair | Epocrates | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 4.2 | 0 / 4.2 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 2.4 | 0 / 2.4 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 8.4 / 21 | 14.7 / 21 | -6.3 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 3 / 6 | 3 / 6 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 3.9 / 15.6 | 15.6 / 15.6 | -11.7 |
| Pricing transparency | 0 / 6 | 6 / 6 | -6 |
| Years in market | 6 / 6 | 6 / 6 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Clair
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Vendor page says it is "competitively priced" with no tiers. Free and individual accounts must not be used with PHI; BAA only for organizational accounts. |
Epocrates
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| epocrates+, monthly | $24.99 | n/a | Cancel anytime. |
| epocrates+, yearly | n/a | $179.99 | The page says Save 40% when subscribing annually. Trial and refund terms are not stated. |
Evidence
Clair
Peer-reviewed
1 PubMed record names Clair.
Epocrates
Peer-reviewed
4 PubMed records name Epocrates.
- Retrospective cohort observation on psychotropic drug-drug interaction and identification utility from 3 databases: Drugs.com®, Lexicomp®, and Epocrates®. (opens in new tab)
- Agreement of Different Drug-Drug Interaction Checkers for Proton Pump Inhibitors. (opens in new tab)
- Assessing accuracy and completeness of drug information in mobile apps compared with Micromedex®: An AI-based study in Thai online communities. (opens in new tab)
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Clair | Epocrates |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | 2017 | 1998 |
| HQ | US | US |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full drug info comparison
Drug references (Lexidrug, Micromedex, Epocrates) and interaction checkers (Drugs.com, Medscape). Built for the clinician at the point of care.


