MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Clair vs Micromedex

Micromedex serves pharmacy, nursing, physician and toxicology users, among others. Merative lists 2,500+ drug monographs, IV compatibility, toxicology across 470,000+ products, RED BOOK pricing for 360,000+ items and NeoFax content. Those counts are the vendor's, as is its claim to have ranked first in Best in KLAS 2026 for point-of-care drug reference. SelectHub lists a custom annual quote, and library guides say the apps come with the institutional subscription. Micromedex's AI search launched in September 2025, and the vendor gives no independent accuracy data. A hospital pharmacy that needs IV compatibility, toxicology or drug pricing finds none of the three listed on cary.health/clair or askclair.ai, so Clair offers that pharmacy less.

Clair's vendor counts run to 200M+ studies, 2M+ interactions and 147K+ FDA package inserts, with search over a customer's own uploaded documents. Per the askclair.ai consent dialog, a BAA comes with an organizational account, and the enterprise page adds custom AI guardrails and white-label branding. That fits a group loading its own protocols.

Drug info · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Clair logo

Clair

by CareTria · founded 2017

Clinical AI reference for clinicians with drug interactions, antibiotic stewardship and answers that cite their sources.

Micromedex logo

Micromedex

by Merative

Drug reference with interaction checking, IV compatibility, toxicology and RED BOOK pricing, plus AI-powered search since September 2025.

When to pick each one

Clair

  • Search over your own uploaded documents
  • Custom AI guardrails, per the enterprise page
  • White-label branding for enterprise accounts
Read the full Clair review

Micromedex

  • IV compatibility and toxicology including Poisindex
  • RED BOOK pricing and NeoFax content
  • Custom annual quote, per SelectHub
Read the full Micromedex review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Clair

35of 100

Competitive

Micromedex

52of 100

Solid choice
Score by dimension for Clair and Micromedex
DimensionClairMicromedexDifference
EHR integrations (count)0 / 4.20 / 4.20
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 2.40 / 2.40
Peer-reviewed papers8.4 / 2114.7 / 21-6.3
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review3 / 63 / 60
Funding & adoption signal3.9 / 15.610.9 / 15.6-7
Pricing transparency0 / 63 / 6-3
Years in market6 / 60 / 6+6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Clair

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo public price. Vendor page says it is "competitively priced" with no tiers. Free and individual accounts must not be used with PHI; BAA only for organizational accounts.

Micromedex

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Institutional subscriptionn/an/aNo public price, quoted per organization. No current individual subscription was found.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecClairMicromedex
Free tierYesNo / unverified
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Founded2017n/a
HQUSn/a

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full drug info comparison

Drug references (Lexidrug, Micromedex, Epocrates) and interaction checkers (Drugs.com, Medscape). Built for the clinician at the point of care.