Clair vs NarxCare
CaryHealth, founded in 2017 as CaryRx, sells Clair to clinicians and pharmacists as a reference search with drug interactions, clinical summaries and ICD-10 definitions. Neither cary.health/clair nor askclair.ai shows a price, and bamboohealth.com/solutions/narxcare shows none for NarxCare.
NarxCare is Bamboo Health's PDMP analytics for prescribers, dispensers and pharmacists, delivered in tiles. The vendor says it is intended to aid, not replace, medical decision making. The literature describes Narx Scores for narcotics, sedatives and stimulants plus an overdose risk score. A 2026 NPJ Digital Medicine paper by Wang and colleagues rebuilt models from the published specification and reached precision of 0.01 to 0.32 against a reported 0.75 benchmark. Citeline Medtech Insight reported on March 11, 2026 that FDA's device center was reviewing a second citizen petition asking that NarxCare be regulated as a device. A prescriber wanting PDMP risk scores has NarxCare to look at, and a clinician wanting a drug answer has Clair.
Drug info · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Clair
by CareTria · founded 2017
Clinical AI reference for clinicians with drug interactions, antibiotic stewardship and answers that cite their sources.

NarxCare
by Bamboo Health
PDMP risk-scoring and analytics tool that shows controlled-substance history and overdose risk scores to prescribers and pharmacists.
When to pick each one
Clair
- Drug interactions and clinical summaries
- ICD-10 definitions in plain language
NarxCare
- PDMP data shown as tiles with scores
- Delivered in EHR and pharmacy systems, vendor says
- Narx Scores and an overdose risk score
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Clair
35of 100
NarxCare
57of 100
| Dimension | Clair | NarxCare | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 4.2 | 0 / 4.2 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 2.4 | 0 / 2.4 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 8.4 / 21 | 21 / 21 | -12.6 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 3 / 6 | 0 / 6 | +3 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 3.9 / 15.6 | 10.9 / 15.6 | -7 |
| Pricing transparency | 0 / 6 | 3 / 6 | -3 |
| Years in market | 6 / 6 | 0 / 6 | +6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Clair
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. Vendor page says it is "competitively priced" with no tiers. Free and individual accounts must not be used with PHI; BAA only for organizational accounts. |
NarxCare
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. The page does not say whether state PDMP funding covers access. |
Evidence
Clair
Peer-reviewed
1 PubMed record names Clair.
NarxCare
Peer-reviewed
5 PubMed records name NarxCare.
- Paths Forward for Clinicians Amidst the Rise of Unregulated Clinical Decision Support Software: Our Perspective on NarxCare. (opens in new tab)
- Letter to the Editor Responding to "Paths Forward for Clinicians Amidst the Rise of Unregulated Clinical Decision Support Software: Our Perspective on NarxCare". (opens in new tab)
- Preoperative NarxCare Overdose Risk Scores Greater than 200 Are Associated With Worse 1-Year Patient-Reported Outcomes and Dissatisfaction after Primary Total Knee Arthroplasty. (opens in new tab)
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Clair | NarxCare |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | 2017 | n/a |
| HQ | US | US |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full drug info comparison
Drug references (Lexidrug, Micromedex, Epocrates) and interaction checkers (Drugs.com, Medscape). Built for the clinician at the point of care.
