MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

DermaSensor vs Eko Health

A family medicine practice could put either device in its exam rooms. DermaSensor is a handheld spectroscopy reader that gives a Monitor or Investigate Further result with a 1 to 10 score on a lesion the physician already finds suspicious, in patients 40 and older. Eko AI runs on Eko's digital stethoscopes and flags murmurs, AFib and low ejection fraction, though AFib needs the CORE 500 and the low ejection fraction tool runs on an ECG-capable stethoscope.

Eko lists the CORE 300 at $199 on sale (list $249, sale end date not shown) and $119.99 per year for the Eko+ membership that Eko AI requires. DermaSensor is rented monthly, and the vendor says a dedicated CPT code has not yet been established. DermaSensor's FAQ says EHR integration is not available yet, and Eko's membership table marks EHR integration for SENSORA only.

DermaSensor was granted FDA De Novo DEN230008 on January 12, 2024. Eko's 10 510(k) clearances cover its stethoscopes and analysis software.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

DermaSensor logo

DermaSensor

by DermaSensor · founded 2009

Handheld spectroscopy device giving primary care physicians an AI score on skin lesions already judged suspicious.

Eko Health logo

Eko Health

by Eko Health

Digital stethoscopes and an AI membership that detect heart murmurs, AFib and low ejection fraction for clinicians.

When to pick each one

DermaSensor

  • De Novo DEN230008, lesions already judged suspicious
  • Handheld reader, rented monthly with try-and-return
Read the full DermaSensor review

Eko Health

  • CORE 300 at $199 on sale, Eko+ $119.99 per year
  • 10 FDA 510(k) clearances, SOC 2 Type II
Read the full Eko Health review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

DermaSensor

49of 100

Solid choice

Eko Health

48of 100

Solid choice
Score by dimension for DermaSensor and Eko Health
DimensionDermaSensorEko HealthDifference
FDA clearance12 / 1212 / 120
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 1010 / 10-10
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers14.7 / 218.4 / 21+6.3
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review4.5 / 90 / 9+4.5
Funding & adoption signal3 / 128.4 / 12-5.4
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.51.3 / 2.50
Years in market6 / 60 / 6+6

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

DermaSensor

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo published price for an outright purchase. Monthly rental subscription, one-year device use agreement with try-and-return option.

Eko Health

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
CORE 300 digital stethoscopen/an/aSale price, list price $249 struck through on the product page. Sale end date not shown.
Eko+n/an/aRequired for Eko AI. Renews automatically for the year. 14-day free trial, downgrade to Free before day 14.
Enterprise (SENSORA, Eko Telehealth)n/an/aNo public price. Contact sales.

Evidence

Eko Health

FDA decisions

Show 5 more

Peer-reviewed

1 PubMed record names Eko Health.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecDermaSensorEko Health
Free tierNo / unverifiedYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedYes
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedYes
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Founded2009n/a
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.