MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

DermaSensor vs OpenEvidence

OpenEvidence is free to NPI-verified physicians and funded by advertising. DermaSensor is a rental subscription for a handheld device, with a try-and-return option.

A physician opens OpenEvidence for cited answers from the literature, and the vendor's security page states SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA compliance with a BAA. A primary care practice rents DermaSensor for a spectroscopy reading on a lesion already judged suspicious. The vendor says its result should not be used as the sole diagnostic criterion and is not a screening tool.

Published studies that include OpenEvidence cover a comparison of AI tools on diagnostic radiology board-style questions and a content analysis of how AI tools cite retracted literature. DermaSensor's evidence page lists a vendor-run multi-reader study and a prospective UPMC evaluation with specificity of 9.4% at the lowest cut point.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

DermaSensor logo

DermaSensor

by DermaSensor · founded 2009

Handheld spectroscopy device giving primary care physicians an AI score on skin lesions already judged suspicious.

OpenEvidence logo

OpenEvidence

by OpenEvidence · founded 2022

Free physician-only literature-grounded Q&A, 1M consults/day.

When to pick each one

DermaSensor

  • Handheld spectroscopy score on suspicious lesions
  • Try-and-return option on the rental
Read the full DermaSensor review

OpenEvidence

  • Free, cited answers for NPI-verified physicians
  • SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA with a BAA
Read the full OpenEvidence review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

DermaSensor

49of 100

Solid choice

OpenEvidence

52of 100

Solid choice
Score by dimension for DermaSensor and OpenEvidence
DimensionDermaSensorOpenEvidenceDifference
FDA clearance12 / 120 / 12+12
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers14.7 / 2121 / 21-6.3
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review4.5 / 94.5 / 90
Funding & adoption signal3 / 1212 / 12-9
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.52.5 / 2.5-1.2
Years in market6 / 64.2 / 6+1.8

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

DermaSensor

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo published price for an outright purchase. Monthly rental subscription, one-year device use agreement with try-and-return option.

OpenEvidence

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Plann/an/aFree for NPI-verified physicians (ad-funded).

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecDermaSensorOpenEvidence
Free tierNo / unverifiedYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Founded20092022
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.