MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

DermaSensor vs VisualDx

VisualDx publishes its price. Elite, the clinician tier, is $299.99 per year billed annually, Core is $249.99, and groups of 2 to 5 users get a quote. DermaSensor publishes no price for rental or purchase.

A family physician with a skin complaint on the schedule could use either. VisualDx builds a ranked differential from findings and patient context, and the vendor says it holds 50,000+ clinical images across skin tones and body sites. Its paid plans also include AI image analysis, and VisualDx's pricing page and homepage state no FDA clearance. DermaSensor scores a lesion the physician already suspects, returns Monitor or Investigate Further with a 1 to 10 score, and holds a De Novo grant. The vendor reports 96% sensitivity for Monitor in its DERM-SUCCESS reader study and 33% specificity in a second vendor-run study, so many lesions come back as Investigate Further.

VisualDx can go on a purchase request today, while DermaSensor starts at a demo request, and only DermaSensor has an FDA decision behind a biopsy call.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

DermaSensor logo

DermaSensor

by DermaSensor · founded 2009

Handheld spectroscopy device giving primary care physicians an AI score on skin lesions already judged suspicious.

VisualDx logo

VisualDx

by VisualDx · founded 1999

Differential diagnosis builder with 50,000+ clinical images across skin tones and body sites.

When to pick each one

DermaSensor

  • De Novo grant for lesions a physician already suspects
  • Monitor or Investigate Further result with a 1 to 10 score
  • Rental subscription, training included
Read the full DermaSensor review

VisualDx

  • Elite at $299.99 per year, billed annually
  • Ranked differential with skin-tone image comparison
  • Core tier at $249.99 per year
Read the full VisualDx review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

DermaSensor

49of 100

Solid choice

VisualDx

48of 100

Solid choice
Score by dimension for DermaSensor and VisualDx
DimensionDermaSensorVisualDxDifference
FDA clearance12 / 120 / 12+12
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0 / 100 / 100
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers14.7 / 2114.7 / 210
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review4.5 / 99 / 9-4.5
Funding & adoption signal3 / 128.4 / 12-5.4
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.52.5 / 2.5-1.2
Years in market6 / 66 / 60

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

DermaSensor

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Enterprisen/an/aNo published price for an outright purchase. Monthly rental subscription, one-year device use agreement with try-and-return option.

VisualDx

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Core (education)n/a$249.99Shown as $39.99 or $20.83 per month, billed annually. Free trial length is not stated. Annual plans that auto-renew have a 30-day grace period for a full refund of the renewed fee.
Elite (clinicians)n/a$299.99Shown as $49.99 or $24.99 per month, billed annually.
Groups and Enterprisen/an/aContact for pricing, including small groups of 2 to 5 users.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecDermaSensorVisualDx
Free tierNo / unverifiedYes
HIPAANo / unverifiedNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IINo / unverifiedNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Founded20091999
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.