MedAI Verdict
All comparisons

Eko Health vs OpenEvidence

OpenEvidence goes to a verified US physician who wants cited answers over the medical literature, free for NPI-verified physicians and funded by ads, with a BAA and SOC 2 Type II stated on its security page. Eko goes to a clinician or clinic that wants a stethoscope with AI, and the AI sits behind a paid membership with a 14-day free trial.

OpenEvidence's peer-reviewed papers include a 2026 comparison with GPT-4o and Perplexity AI on diagnostic radiology board-style questions and a 2026 concordance study against the 2024 AAOS meniscal guideline. A November 2025 medRxiv pilot, not peer reviewed, scored accuracy at 31% for quick search and 39.5% for Deep Consult on subspecialty scenarios. A user on r/emergencymedicine reported a chest x-ray and pulmonary embolism error in September 2025.

Eko's PubMed hits include a 2019 Pediatric Cardiology evaluation of the Eko teleauscultation system and a 2025 Netherlands Heart Journal article on the CORE 500. The vendor claims 70+ publications, and its homepage line that providers using Eko are 2x more likely to detect heart disease is also its own claim.

Decision support · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Eko Health logo

Eko Health

by Eko Health

Digital stethoscopes and an AI membership that detect heart murmurs, AFib and low ejection fraction for clinicians.

OpenEvidence logo

OpenEvidence

by OpenEvidence · founded 2022

Free physician-only literature-grounded Q&A, 1M consults/day.

When to pick each one

Eko Health

  • Digital stethoscope AI for murmurs and AFib
  • 2019 field evaluation of the teleauscultation system
  • Eko+ AI membership with a 14-day trial
Read the full Eko Health review

OpenEvidence

  • Free for NPI-verified physicians, ad-funded
  • Security page states a BAA and SOC 2 Type II
  • Cited answers over medical literature
Read the full OpenEvidence review

Score

Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.

Eko Health

48of 100

Solid choice

OpenEvidence

52of 100

Solid choice
Score by dimension for Eko Health and OpenEvidence
DimensionEko HealthOpenEvidenceDifference
FDA clearance12 / 120 / 12+12
HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA10 / 100 / 10+10
EHR integrations (count)0 / 5.60 / 5.60
Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0 / 4.80 / 4.80
Bidirectional write-back0 / 1.20 / 1.20
Peer-reviewed papers8.4 / 2121 / 21-12.6
RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0 / 94.5 / 9-4.5
Funding & adoption signal8.4 / 1212 / 12-3.6
Pricing transparency1.3 / 2.52.5 / 2.5-1.2
Years in market0 / 64.2 / 6-4.2

Scroll horizontally to see every column.

How scores are computed

Pricing

Eko Health

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
CORE 300 digital stethoscopen/an/aSale price, list price $249 struck through on the product page. Sale end date not shown.
Eko+n/an/aRequired for Eko AI. Renews automatically for the year. 14-day free trial, downgrade to Free before day 14.
Enterprise (SENSORA, Eko Telehealth)n/an/aNo public price. Contact sales.

OpenEvidence

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Plann/an/aFree for NPI-verified physicians (ad-funded).

Evidence

Eko Health

FDA decisions

Show 5 more

Peer-reviewed

1 PubMed record names Eko Health.

Compliance and integrations

Documented from each vendor’s own pages.

SpecEko HealthOpenEvidence
Free tierYesYes
HIPAAYesNo / unverified
SOC 2 Type IIYesNo / unverified
EHR integrationsNot specifiedNot specified
Foundedn/a2022
HQUSUS

Scroll horizontally to see both columns.

Common questions

Open the full decision support comparison

Differential diagnosis, treatment guidance, drug interactions, evidence-grounded Q&A. The CDS landscape ranges from the UpToDate gold standard to physician-only OpenEvidence. We compared what clinicians actually use.