Epocrates vs Micromedex
Micromedex is sold to institutions, quoted per organization with no public price. A hospital pharmacy or toxicology service that licenses it gets Poisindex toxicology, RED BOOK pricing, NeoFax and pediatric content, IV compatibility and, since September 2025, an AI search that returns cited answers. Merative says it validated that search through internal testing, external clinician validation and real-world testing, and publishes no independent accuracy data. It also claims the 2026 Best in KLAS ranking for point-of-care drug reference. A toxicology service gets no matching content from Epocrates, whose epocrates+ page lists none, so Epocrates is out for that buyer. The Epocrates buyer is a resident or attending paying personally, at $24.99 per month or $179.99 per year, with a group plan for teams. In a 2016 count of detected interactions, Epocrates reached 250 of 400 and Micromedex 236, on versions of that year.
Drug info · Reviewed November 1, 2026

Epocrates
by Epocrates (athenahealth) · founded 1998
Drug reference app with interaction checks, calculators, disease guidance and a beta AI Assist.
Micromedex
by Merative
Drug reference with interaction checking, IV compatibility, toxicology and RED BOOK pricing, plus AI-powered search since September 2025.
When to pick each one
Epocrates
- Individual plan, $24.99 per month or $179.99 per year
- Group plan for teams and residents
Micromedex
- Poisindex toxicology and RED BOOK pricing content
- AI search with cited answers since September 2025
- Institutional subscription, quoted per organization
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Epocrates
74of 100
Micromedex
52of 100
| Dimension | Epocrates | Micromedex | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 4.2 | 0 / 4.2 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 2.4 | 0 / 2.4 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 14.7 / 21 | 14.7 / 21 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 3 / 6 | 3 / 6 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 15.6 / 15.6 | 10.9 / 15.6 | +4.7 |
| Pricing transparency | 6 / 6 | 3 / 6 | +3 |
| Years in market | 6 / 6 | 0 / 6 | +6 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Epocrates
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| epocrates+, monthly | $24.99 | n/a | Cancel anytime. |
| epocrates+, yearly | n/a | $179.99 | The page says Save 40% when subscribing annually. Trial and refund terms are not stated. |
Micromedex
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional subscription | n/a | n/a | No public price, quoted per organization. No current individual subscription was found. |
Evidence
Epocrates
Peer-reviewed
4 PubMed records name Epocrates.
- Retrospective cohort observation on psychotropic drug-drug interaction and identification utility from 3 databases: Drugs.com®, Lexicomp®, and Epocrates®. (opens in new tab)
- Agreement of Different Drug-Drug Interaction Checkers for Proton Pump Inhibitors. (opens in new tab)
- Assessing accuracy and completeness of drug information in mobile apps compared with Micromedex®: An AI-based study in Thai online communities. (opens in new tab)
Micromedex
Peer-reviewed
2 PubMed records name Micromedex.
- Assessing accuracy and completeness of drug information in mobile apps compared with Micromedex®: An AI-based study in Thai online communities. (opens in new tab)
- Discordance in Drug-Drug Interaction Alerts for Antidotes: Comparative Analysis of Electronic Databases and Interpretive Insights from AI Tools. (opens in new tab)
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Epocrates | Micromedex |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | 1998 | n/a |
| HQ | US | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full drug info comparison
Drug references (Lexidrug, Micromedex, Epocrates) and interaction checkers (Drugs.com, Medscape). Built for the clinician at the point of care.
