OnlineMedEd vs Osmosis
Osmosis undercuts OnlineMedEd by $111 over a year: $249 for 12 months, about $21 per month, against $360. A 3-month Osmosis term is $149, while three single months of OnlineMedEd are $237. Elsevier owns Osmosis, and the MD plan lists 1,700+ short illustrated videos and 2,700+ Step 1-style questions. The plan auto-renews unless canceled. A preclinical student on a tight budget takes Osmosis.
OnlineMedEd teaches with 600+ whiteboard videos and 3,000+ pages of notes, plus a Qbank of 3,300+ MD questions, across MD, DO and PA tracks from preclinical years through Step 2 and COMLEX. Archer Review acquired it in March 2025, and checkout now redirects there. A third-year student heading to Step 2 CK gets the weaker deal from Osmosis, whose listed bank is Step 1-style. OnlineMedEd's pricing page states no free trial or refund policy.
Medical education · Reviewed November 1, 2026

OnlineMedEd
by OnlineMedEd (Archer Review)
Whiteboard video lessons, illustrated notes and question banks for MD, DO and PA students, from preclinical years to Step 1, Step 2 and COMLEX.

Osmosis
by Elsevier
Elsevier's health education platform: short illustrated videos, flashcards and practice questions, with plans per program (MD, DO, PA, NP, RN).
When to pick each one
OnlineMedEd
- 600+ whiteboard videos and 3,000+ pages of notes
- MD, DO and PA tracks at $360 per year
Osmosis
- 12-month MD plan at $249
- 1,700+ videos, 2,700+ Step 1-style questions
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
OnlineMedEd
45of 100
Osmosis
42of 100
| Dimension | OnlineMedEd | Osmosis | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 0 / 7 | 0 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 1.8 | 0 / 1.8 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 8.4 / 12 | 0 |
| Pricing transparency | 6.5 / 6.5 | 6.5 / 6.5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 7.8 | 0 / 7.8 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
OnlineMedEd
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual (MD, DO or PA) | n/a | $360 | Each program is priced the same. The pricing page lists no free tier. |
| 6 months (MD, DO or PA) | n/a | n/a | Billed $288 every 6 months. |
| 1 month (MD, DO or PA) | $79 | n/a | No free trial or refund policy is stated on the page. |
Osmosis
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| MD plan, 3 months | n/a | n/a | Billed every 3 months, about $50 per month. From a search summary of the official plan page, not verified live. Auto-renews unless canceled. |
| MD plan, 12 months | n/a | $249 | About $21 per month. From a search summary of the official plan page, not verified live. A 24-month plan is listed at about $17 per month with no total shown. |
Evidence
OnlineMedEd
Community
81 posts sourced: 12 positive, 59 neutral, 10 negative.
Osmosis
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | OnlineMedEd | Osmosis |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | n/a | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Open the full medical education comparison
USMLE prep (UWorld, AMBOSS, Anki), specialty learning (SketchyMedical, Pathoma, Boards & Beyond), CME (Healio AI, AMA Ed Hub). The most affiliate-rich category in healthcare AI.
