OnlineMedEd vs Pathoma
OnlineMedEd's annual plan comes to $360, which is $260 more than Pathoma's $99.95 for 12 months. The Pathoma price includes a 2026 paperback, and all sales are final. A free 1-month Pathoma account offers 6 videos and no book, so the course can be sampled before paying. Pathoma is 35+ hours of pathology video in 19 chapters. OnlineMedEd is 600+ whiteboard videos, 3,000+ pages of illustrated notes and a Qbank of 3,300+ MD questions, with MD, DO and PA tracks priced alike.
A second-year student working through the pathology block should buy Pathoma. Northwestern's high-scorer list records its use only in the preparatory phase, which suggests using it early in Step 1 prep. A third-year student on clinical rotations needs OnlineMedEd, because Pathoma stops at pathology. Its paperback ships as a physical copy only.
Medical education · Reviewed November 1, 2026

OnlineMedEd
by OnlineMedEd (Archer Review)
Whiteboard video lessons, illustrated notes and question banks for MD, DO and PA students, from preclinical years to Step 1, Step 2 and COMLEX.

Pathoma
by Pathoma LLC (Dr. Husain Sattar)
Pathology video course + textbook.
When to pick each one
OnlineMedEd
- Clinical-year lectures and a 3,300+ question Qbank
- $30 per month, billed $360 annually
Pathoma
- Pathology course by Dr. Sattar, 19 chapters
- $99.95 for 12 months, paperback included
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
OnlineMedEd
45of 100
Pathoma
61of 100
| Dimension | OnlineMedEd | Pathoma | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 2.8 / 7 | -2.8 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 1.8 | 0 / 1.8 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 12 / 12 | -3.6 |
| Pricing transparency | 6.5 / 6.5 | 6.5 / 6.5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 7.8 | 0 / 7.8 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
OnlineMedEd
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual (MD, DO or PA) | n/a | $360 | Each program is priced the same. The pricing page lists no free tier. |
| 6 months (MD, DO or PA) | n/a | n/a | Billed $288 every 6 months. |
| 1 month (MD, DO or PA) | $79 | n/a | No free trial or refund policy is stated on the page. |
Pathoma
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free account | 1-month trial | Free | 6 videos, no book |
| Pro3 price points | |||
| Pro | 3 months, one-time | $84.95 | includes the 2026 paperback |
| Pro | 12 months, one-time | $99.95 | includes the 2026 paperback |
| Pro | 21 months, one-time | $119.95 | includes the 2026 paperback |
Verified October 14, 2026 from pathoma.com (opens in new tab).
Evidence
OnlineMedEd
Community
81 posts sourced: 12 positive, 59 neutral, 10 negative.
Pathoma
Peer-reviewed
1 PubMed record names Pathoma.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | OnlineMedEd | Pathoma |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | n/a | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full medical education comparison
USMLE prep (UWorld, AMBOSS, Anki), specialty learning (SketchyMedical, Pathoma, Boards & Beyond), CME (Healio AI, AMA Ed Hub). The most affiliate-rich category in healthcare AI.
