Osmosis vs Pathoma
Pathoma costs $99.95 for 12 months, one-time, and the price includes the 2026 paperback. Osmosis lists $249 for a 12-month MD plan, about $21 per month, and $149 for 3 months. The 12-month plan costs roughly two and a half times Pathoma's year. Osmosis auto-renews unless canceled, and Pathoma's terms make all sales final.
Osmosis is the broader product. Elsevier has owned it since the 2021 acquisition, and the MD plan lists 1,700+ videos and 2,700+ Step 1-style questions, with flashcards. A first-year student who wants one subscription across every preclinical subject picks Osmosis. Plans also exist for DO, PA, NP and RN programs.
Pathoma is 35+ hours of pathology by Dr. Sattar in 19 chapters, with a printed text. Northwestern's high-scorer resource list shows students using it only early on, in the preparatory phase. A student who needs pathology alone saves $149 a year on Pathoma, which makes Osmosis the poorer pick there.
Medical education · Reviewed November 1, 2026
When to pick each one
Osmosis
- 1,700+ videos across the MD plan
- $249 for 12 months, about $21 per month
Pathoma
- Pathology only, 35+ hours of video
- $99.95 for 12 months, paperback included
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Osmosis
42of 100
Pathoma
61of 100
| Dimension | Osmosis | Pathoma | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 2.8 / 7 | -2.8 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 1.8 | 0 / 1.8 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 12 / 12 | -3.6 |
| Pricing transparency | 6.5 / 6.5 | 6.5 / 6.5 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 7.8 | 0 / 7.8 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Osmosis
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| MD plan, 3 months | n/a | n/a | Billed every 3 months, about $50 per month. From a search summary of the official plan page, not verified live. Auto-renews unless canceled. |
| MD plan, 12 months | n/a | $249 | About $21 per month. From a search summary of the official plan page, not verified live. A 24-month plan is listed at about $17 per month with no total shown. |
Pathoma
| Tier | Billing period | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free account | 1-month trial | Free | 6 videos, no book |
| Pro3 price points | |||
| Pro | 3 months, one-time | $84.95 | includes the 2026 paperback |
| Pro | 12 months, one-time | $99.95 | includes the 2026 paperback |
| Pro | 21 months, one-time | $119.95 | includes the 2026 paperback |
Verified October 14, 2026 from pathoma.com (opens in new tab).
Evidence
Osmosis
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
Pathoma
Peer-reviewed
1 PubMed record names Pathoma.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Osmosis | Pathoma |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | n/a | n/a |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full medical education comparison
USMLE prep (UWorld, AMBOSS, Anki), specialty learning (SketchyMedical, Pathoma, Boards & Beyond), CME (Healio AI, AMA Ed Hub). The most affiliate-rich category in healthcare AI.


