Osmosis vs SimConverse
The MD plan page lists $149 per three months and $249 for twelve months, with a 24-month option at about $17 per month, and plans auto-renew unless canceled. It lists 1,700+ videos and 2,700+ Step 1-style questions. A medical student on the MD plan buys exam review, and Osmosis videos are also used inside Elsevier's Sherpath nursing courses. Plans are cut by degree program: MD, DO, PA, NP and RN.
Faculty license SimConverse, which makes it a different purchase from a student plan. Learners talk with AI patients and then write SOAP notes, ISBAR handovers or referral letters that the platform marks. A Villanova study of first-year BSN students on therapeutic communication reported a nonstatistically significant advantage for the experimental group, with positive qualitative themes.
Medical education · Reviewed November 2, 2026

Osmosis
by Elsevier
Elsevier's health education platform: short illustrated videos, flashcards and practice questions, with plans per program (MD, DO, PA, NP, RN).
SimConverse
by Dymaxion Technologies Pty Ltd
AI simulated patients for communication training in health professions education.
When to pick each one
SimConverse
- Marks SOAP notes, ISBAR handovers and referral letters
- Nursing study on therapeutic communication, Villanova authors
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
Osmosis
42of 100
SimConverse
32of 100
| Dimension | Osmosis | SimConverse | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Peer-reviewed papers | 0 / 7 | 4.9 / 7 | -4.9 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 1.8 | 0 / 1.8 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 8.4 / 12 | 3 / 12 | +5.4 |
| Pricing transparency | 6.5 / 6.5 | 3.3 / 6.5 | +3.3 |
| Years in market | 0 / 7.8 | 0 / 7.8 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
Osmosis
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| MD plan, 3 months | n/a | n/a | Billed every 3 months, about $50 per month. From a search summary of the official plan page, not verified live. Auto-renews unless canceled. |
| MD plan, 12 months | n/a | $249 | About $21 per month. From a search summary of the official plan page, not verified live. A 24-month plan is listed at about $17 per month with no total shown. |
SimConverse
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. |
Evidence
Osmosis
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
SimConverse
Peer-reviewed
4 PubMed records name SimConverse.
- Artificial intelligence-driven patient history and symptoms combined with slit-lamp eye simulation for enhancing the clinical training of students. (opens in new tab)
- The Effect of Generative Artificial Intelligence Simulation on First-Year Baccalaureate Nursing Students' Therapeutic Communication Skill. (opens in new tab)
- Advances in evaluating and delivering nontechnical skills training: The use of simulation, robotics, artificial intelligence and virtual reality. (opens in new tab)
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | Osmosis | SimConverse |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | n/a | AU |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full medical education comparison
USMLE prep (UWorld, AMBOSS, Anki), specialty learning (SketchyMedical, Pathoma, Boards & Beyond), CME (Healio AI, AMA Ed Hub). The most affiliate-rich category in healthcare AI.
