MedAI Verdict
Mental health

AI Mental Health

Upheal

by Upheal

Last verified

AI progress notes for therapists, with built-in EHR, telehealth and billing plans.

At a glance

Pricing
from USD 39/mo
HIPAA
Attested
SOC 2
Type II
EHRs
—
Founded
—
On this page

Independent score  ·  By our public rubric

25/100Niche fit
How it’s computed →
  • Regulatory & Compliance
    13/25

    HIPAA + (SOC2 or BAA) attested

  • Clinical Integration
    0/13

    No EHR integrations listed

  • Evidence Strength
    0/20

    No peer-reviewed coverage

  • Vendor & Market
    6/18

    Early-stage company

  • Sentiment & Transparency
    5/18.5

    Prices listed publicly

▸ Show all 11 dimensions

Regulatory & Compliance

  • FDA clearance0/12

    No FDA clearance listed

  • HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA13/13

    HIPAA + (SOC2 or BAA) attested

Clinical Integration

  • EHR integrations (count)0/7

    No EHR integrations listed

  • Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)0/4

    None of the top-3 EHRs covered

  • Bidirectional write-back0/2

    No bidirectional write-back documented

Evidence Strength

  • Peer-reviewed papers0/14

    No peer-reviewed coverage

  • RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0/6

    No RCT, meta-analysis, or systematic review

Vendor & Market

  • Funding & adoption signal6/12

    Early-stage company

  • Years in market0/6

    Founded year not recorded

Sentiment & Transparency

  • Clinician sentiment (Reddit)0/14

    No clinician sentiment data available

  • Pricing transparency5/5

    Prices listed publicly

Scored October 15, 2026 · Public scoring method v1.1.0

Bottom line

AI progress notes for therapists, with built-in EHR, telehealth and billing plans.

Pricing from from USD 39/mo. HIPAA + SOC 2 Type II attested.

Editorial review  ·  By MedAI Verdict

Bottom line

Upheal is an AI note-taker for therapists that has grown into a small EHR. As of October 2026 it has a free plan, a flat $39 monthly plan for AI notes and a pay-per-session EHR at $1. It states SOC 2 Type II and signs a BAA at sign-up. It fits solo and small-group therapists who want notes, treatment plans and billing in one place. A practice that needs notes pushed natively into an existing EHR gets only a browser extension.

What is Upheal and who sells it?

Upheal's tagline is "Save time with secure AI progress notes. The most loved AI notes for therapists. Plus everything you need to replace your EHR, when you're ready" (Upheal website). It writes notes from in-person, virtual, dictated or uploaded sessions, with templates for therapy and psychiatric notes, for individuals and couples. It can also generate treatment plans from past sessions, and a browser extension fills a note into an outside EHR "with one click".

The EHR plans add built-in telehealth, invoicing and superbills. Zoom is supported, Google Calendar syncs both ways, and Upheal can migrate records from an old EHR. It names no native integration with other EHRs.

Upheal, Inc. lists a Miami address in its website footer. Dealroom and PitchBook summaries describe a Czech-American company founded in 2021 by Juraj Chrappa and Martin Horvath, with a Czech entity, Upheal s.r.o. It raised a EUR 9.5 million Series A (about $10 million) on November 14, 2024, led by Headline with Credo Ventures and Kaya Ventures, for about EUR 13.7 million raised in total (Nordic9).

How much does Upheal cost?

Upheal's pricing page lists a Free plan at $0 per month, AI Notes at $39 per month with unlimited sessions, an Assistant Pro add-on at $39 more per month, the EHR at $1 per session and EHR Pro at $99 per month. Flat plans bill monthly in advance. The pay-as-you-go EHR bills on the first of the following month. A trial needs no credit card, though its length is not stated, and there is a 30-day money-back guarantee.

The vendor's pricing-reference page lists older plans: Starter at $19 annual or $29 monthly, and Premium at $69 annual or $99 monthly.

How does it handle privacy?

Upheal says it "fully complies with the HIPAA Security Rule and Privacy Rule" and that all covered entities using the platform accept a BAA on signing up. It states it has obtained SOC 2 Type II certification and runs a trust portal. GDPR and UK GDPR compliance are stated too. HITRUST and audio retention are not mentioned on the compliance page. A note generator is not a medical device, so no FDA status applies.

How solid are the usage claims?

The main source is Upheal itself, which cites more than 70,000 providers, more than 800 organizations and a 4.6 out of 5 Trustpilot rating. All three are the company's claims. Upheal also publishes comparison pages against Mentalyc and Blueprint, which are vendor-authored.

Who is it for?

A solo therapist who bills clients directly and has no EHR yet gets the most from the EHR plans. The $39 AI Notes plan costs the same whether a therapist sees ten clients a week or forty. A therapist with very few sessions can start on the free plan or the $1 per-session EHR. A practice already invested in another EHR gets the extension that fills notes into the EHR "with one click", and no native integration.

The verdict

Upheal is a straightforward pick for independent therapists who want notes and billing under one login. The gaps are the unstated trial length and the missing details on audio retention and model training.

Editorial review last generated October 15, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.

Pricing

What it costs

Paid plans span USD 39 to USD 99 per month per provider, depending on tier.

TierMonthlyAnnualNotes
Free——Free plan on the pricing page. No credit card required for the trial, trial length not stated.
AI NotesUSD 39—Flat price, unlimited sessions. Assistant Pro add-on is +$39 per month. 30-day money-back guarantee.
EHR——Pay as you go, billed on the 1st of the following month.
EHR ProUSD 99—Flat price.

Source: vendor pricing page. Last checked October 15, 2026.

Compliance + integration

What deploys cleanly

Carries HIPAA, SOC 2 Type II (vendor-stated), BAA (vendor-stated) per vendor documentation. Independent attestation review is the buyer's responsibility before clinical deployment.