NarxCare vs UpToDate Lexidrug
A practice that prescribes opioids could buy both, since they cover different ground. NarxCare puts a patient's PDMP history and Narx Scores in front of the prescriber, and Bamboo Health says it is meant to aid, not replace, medical decision making. A 2023 JAMIA paper called for better validation of opioid overdose risk algorithms, and a 2026 ethnography described scores presented as authoritative yet unexaminable.
Lexidrug, which Wolters Kluwer formerly sold as Lexicomp, covers drug interactions, Trissel's IV compatibility and off-label uses, and its mobile app downloads for offline use. The product page also lists allergy considerations and patient education materials. Enterprise Lexidrug has no public price and a contact form, and a personal subscription is listed in app stores at $29.99 per month, currency not stated, with the current personal price unconfirmed.
Drug info · Reviewed November 2, 2026

NarxCare
by Bamboo Health
PDMP risk-scoring and analytics tool that shows controlled-substance history and overdose risk scores to prescribers and pharmacists.
UpToDate Lexidrug
by Wolters Kluwer
Drug reference with interaction analysis, dosing guidance and IV compatibility, from UpToDate (formerly Lexicomp).
When to pick each one
NarxCare
- Overdose Risk Score for prescribers
- Narx Scores for narcotics, sedatives and stimulants
UpToDate Lexidrug
- Trissel's IV compatibility
- Offline mobile app
- Formerly Lexicomp
Score
Each row shows points earned of points available under the published rubric.
NarxCare
57of 100
UpToDate Lexidrug
30of 100
| Dimension | NarxCare | UpToDate Lexidrug | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| EHR integrations (count) | 0 / 4.2 | 0 / 4.2 | 0 |
| Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena) | 0 / 2.4 | 0 / 2.4 | 0 |
| Peer-reviewed papers | 21 / 21 | 0 / 21 | +21 |
| RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review | 0 / 6 | 0 / 6 | 0 |
| Funding & adoption signal | 10.9 / 15.6 | 15.6 / 15.6 | -4.7 |
| Pricing transparency | 3 / 6 | 3 / 6 | 0 |
| Years in market | 0 / 6 | 0 / 6 | 0 |
Scroll horizontally to see every column.
Pricing
NarxCare
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price. The page does not say whether state PDMP funding covers access. |
UpToDate Lexidrug
| Tier | Monthly | Annual | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise | n/a | n/a | No public price, contact form only. Personal subscriptions are also sold (mobile app and store.uptodate.com), but the current personal price is not confirmed. |
Evidence
NarxCare
Peer-reviewed
5 PubMed records name NarxCare.
- Paths Forward for Clinicians Amidst the Rise of Unregulated Clinical Decision Support Software: Our Perspective on NarxCare. (opens in new tab)
- Letter to the Editor Responding to "Paths Forward for Clinicians Amidst the Rise of Unregulated Clinical Decision Support Software: Our Perspective on NarxCare". (opens in new tab)
- Preoperative NarxCare Overdose Risk Scores Greater than 200 Are Associated With Worse 1-Year Patient-Reported Outcomes and Dissatisfaction after Primary Total Knee Arthroplasty. (opens in new tab)
UpToDate Lexidrug
No FDA decision, peer-reviewed study or community post in our record.
Compliance and integrations
Documented from each vendor’s own pages.
| Spec | NarxCare | UpToDate Lexidrug |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | ||
| HIPAA | ||
| SOC 2 Type II | ||
| EHR integrations | Not specified | Not specified |
| Founded | n/a | n/a |
| HQ | US | NL |
Scroll horizontally to see both columns.
Common questions
Open the full drug info comparison
Drug references (Lexidrug, Micromedex, Epocrates) and interaction checkers (Drugs.com, Medscape). Built for the clinician at the point of care.
