MedAI Verdict
AI medical scribes

AI Medical Scribe

athenaAmbient

by athenahealth  ·  founded 2026  ·  US

Last verified

athenahealth's own ambient scribe built into athenaOne (announced November 2025, general availability reported August 2026).

At a glance

Pricing
Third-party reports (Newsweek, Commure) say it is included in the athenaOne subscription at no additional charge. No athenahealth page shows this: its cost page describes collections-based pricing with no figure.
HIPAA
Not disclosed
SOC 2
Not disclosed
EHRs
1
Founded
2026
HQ
US
On this page

Independent score  ·  By our public rubric

20/100Niche fit
How it’s computed →
  • Regulatory & Compliance
    0/25

    No FDA clearance listed

  • Clinical Integration
    11.1/38.2

    1 EHR integrations

  • Evidence Strength
    0/10

    No peer-reviewed coverage

  • Vendor & Market
    9.9/18

    Mid-tier funding and adoption

  • Sentiment & Transparency
    0/14

    No clinician sentiment data available

▸ Show all 11 dimensions

Regulatory & Compliance

  • FDA clearance0/12

    No FDA clearance listed

  • HIPAA / SOC2 / BAA0/13

    No public HIPAA/SOC2/BAA attestation

Clinical Integration

  • EHR integrations (count)6/21

    1 EHR integrations

  • Top-3 EHR coverage (Epic / Oracle / Athena)5/12

    athena only (1 of 3 top EHRs)

  • Bidirectional write-back0/5

    No bidirectional write-back documented

Evidence Strength

  • Peer-reviewed papers0/7

    No peer-reviewed coverage

  • RCT / meta-analysis / systematic review0/3

    No RCT, meta-analysis, or systematic review

Vendor & Market

  • Funding & adoption signal8/12

    Mid-tier funding and adoption

  • Years in market2/6

    Founded 2026 (0 year)

Sentiment & Transparency

  • Clinician sentiment (Reddit)0/9

    No clinician sentiment data available

  • Pricing transparency0/5

    No public pricing

Scored October 15, 2026 · Public scoring method v1.1.0

Bottom line

athenahealth's own ambient scribe built into athenaOne (announced November 2025, general availability reported August 2026).

Third-party reports (Newsweek, Commure) say it is included in the athenaOne subscription at no additional charge. No athenahealth page shows this: its cost page describes collections-based pricing with no figure. integrates with athena.

Editorial review  ·  By MedAI Verdict

Bottom line

athenaAmbient is athenahealth's own AI scribe, built into the athenaOne EHR. It drafts notes, potential diagnoses and recommended order types inside the encounter, and practices can switch AI features on or off. It fits an athenaOne practice that wants a scribe without a second vendor or contract. It works only inside athenaOne, so a practice on another EHR cannot use it at all.

Pricing

athenaAmbient pricing in 2026: what it actually costs

athenahealth's cost page describes collections-based pricing with no dollar figure for ambient notes (as of October 2026). Third parties report that athenaAmbient is included in the athenaOne subscription at no additional charge. That is not shown on a verified athenahealth page.

TierBilling periodMonthlyAnnualNotes
athenaAmbient (third-party report)included in athenaOne, per third-party reportsn/an/aThird-party reports (Newsweek, Commure) say it is included in the athenaOne subscription at no additional charge. No athenahealth page shows this: its cost page describes collections-based pricing with no figure.

What is not in the athenaAmbient list price?

athenahealth's cost page says "Pricing aligned with your success... our pricing model corresponds to your organization's collections" and calls its pricing "simple and transparent", with no dollar figure for ambient notes and a "Request a demo" button.

Third parties fill the gap, with caveats. A competing vendor's guide reports that athenaAmbient has been generally available across athenaOne since August 2026 and is included in the subscription, quoting a November 2025 statement that it is "embedded in the core athenaOne fee and will not be at any incremental charge". The same source says it covers documentation only, without ICD-10 or CPT suggestions or custom templates. We could not find that on an athenahealth page.

Ambient Notes, the option that runs third-party models inside athenaOne, is less clear. One source says it is included. Another says each vendor sets prices, with Abridge, Suki and iScribe typically charging a per-provider monthly fee. Third-party scribes are cited at about $200 to $600 per provider per month. The athenaOne base fee is reportedly collections-based, about 4 to 8% of monthly collections, starting near $140 per provider per month (third-party benchmark).

Is athenaAmbient worth it?

Based on the reports, athenaAmbient is the lowest-friction route for a practice already on athenaOne, since it is described as included and documentation-only. The trade-off in those reports is the absence of ICD-10 or CPT suggestions and custom templates. Freed is a listed-price alternative for a practice that wants more control. The athenaOne contract is where "included" is defined.

Verified October 14, 2026 from athenahealth.com.

What is athenaAmbient and who sells it?

athenahealth is based in Watertown, Massachusetts. Hellman & Friedman and Bain Capital acquired it for $17B, announced on 22 November 2021 and closed on 15 February 2022. The sellers, Veritas and Evergreen Coast, kept minority stakes, and GIC and ADIA co-invested.

Commure's blog reports that the scribe was announced in November 2025 and went into user testing from February 2026. The ona.health review of athenahealth says the company's AI page still read "Coming in 2026" shortly after the announcement. SOAP Note AI, citing a press release, puts general availability on 13 August 2026.

What does it do?

The scribe documents the encounter inside the athenaOne workflow and suggests diagnoses and order types.

The name covers two products. Ambient Notes runs third-party models inside athenaOne, with Suki, iScribe and Abridge named, and Dragon Copilot was listed as planned for the first half of 2026. athenaAmbient is the first-party scribe. athenahealth's Spring 2026 release added customisable note style to Ambient Notes.

Where does it fall short?

Commure, DeepCura and SOAP Note AI, all of which sell scribes, describe athenaAmbient as limited next to standalone scribes. SOAP Note AI reports that it lacks ICD-10 and CPT suggestions and custom templates. Praise for the zero cost and the native workflow comes from those same sources and Newsweek.

What about security and compliance?

athenahealth states HITRUST certification continuously since 2013. Its trust center lists HITRUST CSF, SOC 1, PCI DSS, EPCS and ONC 2015 certification. Third parties claim SOC 2, and reports are available on request. Nothing public says whether ambient audio is excluded from model training, and no BAA specific to athenaAmbient is published.

How much does athenaAmbient cost?

athenahealth shows no ambient price, and its cost page says pricing "corresponds to your organization's collections." Newsweek reports no additional fee for the first-party scribe, and a November 2025 statement quoted by SOAP Note AI says it is "embedded in the core athenaOne fee and will not be at any incremental charge." Sources conflict on Ambient Notes. One says the third-party models are included, another says each vendor sets its own price, with scribes cited at roughly $100 to $600 per provider per month.

Who is it for?

An athenaOne practice that wants notes drafted and does not want another monthly bill per provider. A practice that depends on custom templates and coding suggestions is the one the reported gaps hit hardest.

The verdict

For an athenaOne practice, the reported price is zero, which takes cost off the table for now. Whether that holds after launch is open, and the gaps in templates and coding suggestions rest on competitor reporting alone.

Editorial review last generated October 15, 2026. Synthesized from clinician sentiment, peer-reviewed coverage, and our editorial silo picks. Refined by hand where vendor facts change.

Compliance + integration

What deploys cleanly

Carries HITRUST CSF (per athenahealth trust center) per vendor documentation. Independent attestation review is the buyer's responsibility before clinical deployment. Integrates with athena.

Frequently asked

Common questions about athenaAmbient

Answers below cover the most-searched clinician questions for athenaAmbient in 2026. Updated as vendor docs and pricing change.